Cheesy Mexi-Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Instead of cooking the rice in water, I used equal amounts organic chicken broth. I sauteed the vegetables in a little butter instead of chicken broth and I also omitted the can of creamed corn only because I didn't have any on hand. I did not try this myself but my husband and kids really liked it. I think next time, I might try to simplify this recipe and cook it from start to finish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The purists will be mad at me for the substitutions I made, but we were snowed in! And I really liked this dish! I had NO RICE (how does that happen anyway) so I had to sub barley. I had a shredded Mexican cheese blend which I used in place of the Velveeta. Also, I added a can of drained black beans for protein so I could make this a one-dish meal. I ate this plain but the hubs wrapped into soft tortillas and made burritos out of them. Really good and it makes a ton - I've got 4 lunches in the freezer for next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Good easy casserole. I added a small can of diced black olives just because I love them. I'm going to try it with chicken or turkey next. I took some of the leftovers to work and my friends asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Yummy! I loved everything about this recipe. I didn't have mexican flavored Velveeta but the regular worked out fine. I was baking drumsticks but decided to debone them and throw it in the casserole dish. Excellent. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good!!! I made it with leftover puertorican rice and leftover barbq chicken. Left out the green chilies and tomatoes(my sons not found of either). It was very flavor full. Bouth boys lil and big gave it 2 thumbs up. Will be making this again soon .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is a very good recipe that I'm sure I'll make again. It seems pretty robust too, since I made quite a few changes. I picked it to use up the end of summer produce that I had on hand, so instead of canned vegetables I used fresh corn, tomatoes and jalapenos. I also added a can of black beans to make it into a main dish, and used a combination of smoked gouda and mozzarella for the cheese, since that's what I had in the fridge. The recipe didn't seem to mind the alterations at all. I didn't notice that the recipe makes 10 servings, so I can attest to the fact that it makes tasty leftovers too. My husband really loved this dish. I thought that fresh cilantro made a flavorful garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was good. I added diced cooked chicken to make it a meal. I did not put in the creamed corn because of previous reviews. I also added an extra 2 oz. of mexican velveeta and added one big fresh chopped tomatoe. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
We love this recipe! I added a little shredded pepper jack cheese also, and it is really good, we will definitely be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this for a bunco party and it went over really well. I made it for 15 servings and it could have feed many, many more! The only change I made was to use straight processed cheese and not the mexican-style but it didn't seem to make a big difference. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is so great! It's even better if it sits overnight as leftovers! I made the 5 serving size and it was still a lot! I used steamed Jasmine rice and that was great! I didn't have creamed corn and it was still great. I didn't saute the veggies at all - just put them in uncooked. I added a bit more processed cheese (used plain, not Mexican) and it was just right. I also added some diced green pepper for color. Between the Mexican corn and the green chiles, it was quite spicy - I didn't realize it would be and added quite a bit of spice, but it was great!!! This one is a keeper! I'm going to try it with cooked chicken mixed in for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States