Cheesy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is very good! I've made it twice now. Both times I've mixed the cheese in with the meat. The first time, I used the beef & pork mixture and it was good, receiving a great reaction from my husband and son, "Please *only* make this meatloaf from now on!". The second time I used half ground sirloin and half ground turkey, plus Italian bread crumbs. I also made a "channel" in the top of the loaves (fills two pans w/ two lbs.) and added some Italian tomatoes before I baked them. Scrumptious! Other reviewers are correct - this makes a GREAT meatloaf sandwich. Also, FWIW, I didn't taste the onion soup mix much. Others may not be using two lbs. of meat to one packet??? I added in a LOT of black pepper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Boyfriend's words, "Unbelievably good! Best meatloaf I've ever had!" We put three strips of bacon along the top, too. Mmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Maroldi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
My family loved this recipe. I would recommend definitely letting it set the 10-15 minutes before slicing, as I got impatient and my cheese ran out of the sides. Maybe I will try to seal the edges better next time. I used cheddar as other's suggested. It made a dense meatloaf that didn't fall apart. I also put a little ketchup, mustard, brown sugar mix over the top. I will probably stick to my old favorite, but this would be worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I used colby and cheddar cheese in lieu of mozzarella and I mixed it throughout. The mozzarella was too bland the first time. I also used lean ground beef and turkey instead of pork and added a little ketchup. Serve with a rich brown gravy and mashed potatoes... Not a low-cal meal but fun comfort food - really yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I have made this meatloaf 3 times now, the first time I followed the instructions except I used two pounds of ground beef since that's all I had and sharp cheddar for same reason it was oily and most cheese drained out when I tried pouring oil out but otherwise it was good. I think it's because I tried poorly to make my own bread crumbs since I didn't have any and instead of onion soup mix I used half an onion which ended up being too much. So first time not too great but the second time I had all ingredients again used two pounds ground beef and I mixed the sharp cheddar cheese in with the meat, I used Italian bread crumbs, onion soup mix, and it turned out a lot better. I did the same thing the third time and all three times I added a layer of ketchup on top because my husband likes meatloaf better that way and it added just enough tang. Also my husband an I hate pepper so I used garlic salt all three times and the third time I also added season salt since those are my two favorite seasonings. :) Over all very creative idea and really good, when made properly I'd definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parvati48

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
5 stars (with a couple of alterations). I used Italian flavored bread crumbs, and a combination of 1 cup provolone and 1 cup mozzarella cheeses. It's definitely not your ordinary meatloaf! We're not big fans of sweet meat (like the typical meatloaf that has ketchup on top) so this was great. SO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
I only had 1/2 lb ground pork, but no problem - there was plenty of meat in this loaf! However, 60 min definitely wasn't long enough to cook to temperature. I recommend 1:30 to 1:45 cook time. In my opinion, the center cheese layer (that which is not mixed into the meat) did not add much to the flavor of this meatloaf. Instead, it just caused the slices to break in half when plated. My husband loved it, but I'm sure he'd like it just as well without the added calories/fat of the full 2 cups of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
The cheese didn't do anything for me, I thing a little cheese to the top would have been sufficient. The cheese in the middle was rubbery as it cooked for an hour. If I make this again I'll put a layer of sauce in the middle and mix all of the cheese with meatloaf (or just add cheese to the top at the end of cook time). I don't care for onion mix so I used 3 little green onions and some italian salad dressing for kicks instead of the soup mix and that worked out great. It was juicy and stayed together nicely. My mind says meatloaf needs something red or gravy. Without it, something is just missing. I had ground pork and beef, but really couldn't tell. Overall good, but I didn't like the cheese in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Surprisingly good. Don't make more than you can eat though- not good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Wonderful recipe. Everyone loved it - I even liked it and I don't like meatloaf. Because my husband and I are on low-carb diets, I substituted the bread crumbs for some crushed pork rinds (only about 3/4 cup). I also didn't have enough mozerella on hand, so I mixed the mozerella with some shredded cheddar I had - was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States