Cheesy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
My husband I really enjoyed this meatloaf but I did make a few changes. I used ground venison instead ground beef. I did not have any Lipton Onion Soup so I used red peppers, onions, and Rotel (mild), garlic powder, worscestershire and chedder cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This is a very good dish, and I have made it twice. The second time, I used sweet italian sausage (with casings removed) and it came out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandym

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I have to say I was a bit disappointed. It was good meatloaf, nice and very moist, but I think it could have used a bit more flavor. Unlike some of the other reviewers, we couldn't even really taste the onion soup mix! Also, I couldn't find ground pork so used all hamburger, and I replaced the mozzarella with cheddar. Like I said, it was good, but I'd like to try some other meatloafs. Oh and it was VERY quick and easy to make, always a plus! This meat loaf was even better after sitting in the fridge a couple days, it's almost a perfect 5 except it would be even better with more seasonings. I'm also going to try to make baked meatballs with this because it was excellent with bow tie egg noodles and melted butter as left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This just seemed to have a bland cheezy blob in the middle. Maybe it would have been more flavorful with cheddar. Anyway if I was going to keep making a meatloaf recipe that had so many more calories due to the cheese, it would have to taste much better. We threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
My family didnt care for this at all - much more bland than we thought. We have used another meatloaf recipe within this site (Rempel families) and we will continue to use that one instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
This is good, but it is a little too much onion. Next time I will only use half a packet. We aren't big onion eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
The cheese didn't do anything for me, I thing a little cheese to the top would have been sufficient. The cheese in the middle was rubbery as it cooked for an hour. If I make this again I'll put a layer of sauce in the middle and mix all of the cheese with meatloaf (or just add cheese to the top at the end of cook time). I don't care for onion mix so I used 3 little green onions and some italian salad dressing for kicks instead of the soup mix and that worked out great. It was juicy and stayed together nicely. My mind says meatloaf needs something red or gravy. Without it, something is just missing. I had ground pork and beef, but really couldn't tell. Overall good, but I didn't like the cheese in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
My family loved this recipe. I would recommend definitely letting it set the 10-15 minutes before slicing, as I got impatient and my cheese ran out of the sides. Maybe I will try to seal the edges better next time. I used cheddar as other's suggested. It made a dense meatloaf that didn't fall apart. I also put a little ketchup, mustard, brown sugar mix over the top. I will probably stick to my old favorite, but this would be worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Boyfriend's words, "Unbelievably good! Best meatloaf I've ever had!" We put three strips of bacon along the top, too. Mmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Maroldi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
i have made this loaf 2xs now and it's fabulous. i use cheddar cheese and ground turkey. each time i put it in the loaf i think it's too dry...but it's not! and it's so savory! i cut the recipe in 1/2 for my small family. i highly recommend this loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States