Cheesy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Dip? I just noticed that in the description as I went to the recipe to review it! I had no idea. For us this was an incredibly delicious baked-style mashed potato dish that paired well with our grilled steak and vegetables. Interestingly, I thought the dish I used to bake them in would be too big, yet when they came out of the oven they had puffed beautifully to the top of the dish! I was low on Cheddar so I made up the difference with pepper-jack cheese and it proved to be an excellent substitution that added an interesting flavor. I particularly liked the dill and was happy I still had some fresh in my garden. I only made a small portion of this recipe for just the two of us so I was able to trim the baking time in half. All puffed and golden and garnished with fresh chopped green onion, this was just as pretty as it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Wouldn't change a thing! I was surprised by the fact that it could be used as a dip. Will definatley try with the left overs, if there are any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Mashed potatoes are comfort food at it's best, but add cheese and sour cream and you have something rich and delicious! Not something I'd make everyday mind you, but once in a while you have to splurge. The addition of the dill weed was interesting and proved to be a nice touch. Not sure I'd ever use this as a dip for potato chips as in the description, but delicious none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Guaranteed to make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These were so good even before I put them in the oven, I couldn't stop eating them! When I took them out of the oven they were too thin, more like mashed potato soup. Next time I will just skip the oven step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Tonight was my second time trying this recipe, and it's still way too runny. I cut down the milk to 1/2 cup and the butter to 1/4 cup, but it still too runny. I think running the potatoes through the food processor makes them runny, so next time, I'll try mashing them by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this recipe last night. It was much too 'soupy'. I may make it again using less milk and less dill weed. We are not a fan of dill. I would cut back on the cheese in the main recipe too. I love mashed potatoes; but this wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
made this recipe for thanksgiving and my family loved it!! It was so cheesy and good. Only thing I would change its not to grease the pan so much and maybe add one more potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Totally sinful but good!!! Those who have had trouble with it thickening up might not have used BAKING POTATOES. I would think that is the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was a side at thanksgiving and was a huge hit! I substituted Gruyere cheese- highly recommended. Even my mother in law who is "portion control" queen had a second serving. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States