Cheesy Leek and Mustard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a great way to use my leftover leeks. I didn't have any cream, so I just used milk and a full cup of Cheddar cheese. I love the idea of blending the soup to make it creamier, because I don't have a food processor. My friend said this soup tasted very British. My boyfriend was unsure of the leek/mustard comb, but when he tasted it he was only too happy to finish the pot. It was FANTASTIC scooped up with toasted french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Mmmmmmm! My 9-yr-old picked this out and LOVES this! She prefers milder tastes. We added some spicy roasted pumpkin seeds as a garnish- WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This soup was amazing...I added a little more cheese than it called for but it was a wonderful springtime soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made this for lunch. I didn't add the cream had it handy but just felt it didn't need it. I also used just cheddar as I forgot to buy the gruyere. Instead of the cream I used a splash or two of milk and it was still creamy. We had this with cheese herb bread from this site. Thoroughly enjoyed it thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this + bacon = 5stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made a few modifications of my own and came out with the best soup I have ever made!!! Probably not the healthiest but delicious for sure. First, I cut up some Bacon (about 12 strips), fried it in the soup pot first... removed the crumbles after they were crisp and then used the bacon fat to fry up the veggies. I added some veggies from my garden... Bell Peppers, Onions, Leeks... after they were cooked tender, I added corn starch and made a rue with the bacon fat... added water and milk and instead of using mustard powder, I squeezed in some dijon mustard. Then added the carrots and potatoes. After it was all cooked through, I used the immersion mixer and blended all the veggies. I used a shredded 3 cheese blend that I already hand in the fridge, also added some additional spices for a little extra flavor. Cayenne, paprika, Cumin, a little nutmeg and some basil... At the end I added the bacon crumbles back into the mix... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdantman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Please take this review with a grain of salt, because I did not make it EXACTLY as written. However, I will say that we LOVED it, and it's definitely worth giving it a try. I didn't make huge changes. I basically omitted the onion (I felt as though the leeks were enough of that flavor profile) and added some frozen peas before pureeing. It was fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I did not have the Gruyere cheese, and used instead a cheese called La Creme De La Creme made in France by Supreme, of about 1/2 lb with the white covering removed and discarded. I used only 1/4 cup of half and half in place of the heavy cream because the cheese is so heavy in fat and cream. I grind the mustard seeds, so they would be very fresh tasting. I weighed the leeks before chopping, and after chopping. These leeks weighed more before the chopping. In other words, I weighed out 1 1/2 pounds both ways. I think a person writing down a recipe should take such into consideration, and note how many cups of leeks and about how many leeks (or other veggies). The chopped leeks weighing 1 1/2 pounds were around a cup and half less. Yes, they were weighed on a vegetable weight. I do not use black pepper because of the toxin in black pepper called piperine that contributes to arthritis. Piperine may have other health benefits, but those people that have cut it out of their diet suffers less with attacks of arthritis along with omitting chicken and eggs. Cayenne pepper is not the same in effects as black pepper. I rated this recipe a 5 star because other items on hand can be substituted for an item that one may be out of, and it is very healthy with leeks having so much potassium. A good way to use leeks instead of just the potato soup with leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
The recipe was a home run, even for my partner who does not care for soups. Not only is it easy to make, but as others have said, it can be tweaked to the consumers' preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Jane

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Couldn't taste the mustard. Used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream. Used cream cheese (what I had on hand) instead of Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States