Cheesy Leek and Mustard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a great way to use my leftover leeks. I didn't have any cream, so I just used milk and a full cup of Cheddar cheese. I love the idea of blending the soup to make it creamier, because I don't have a food processor. My friend said this soup tasted very British. My boyfriend was unsure of the leek/mustard comb, but when he tasted it he was only too happy to finish the pot. It was FANTASTIC scooped up with toasted french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
What a unique combo of flavors! I decided not to puree the soup, because I enjoy the potato chunks. Toward the end of simmering, I still thought it tasted 'not quite there' - so I added perhaps 2-3 TBSP of apple cider vinegar. Sounds odd - but it gave it just the right tang and added a bit more depth. I recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I made a few modifications of my own and came out with the best soup I have ever made!!! Probably not the healthiest but delicious for sure. First, I cut up some Bacon (about 12 strips), fried it in the soup pot first... removed the crumbles after they were crisp and then used the bacon fat to fry up the veggies. I added some veggies from my garden... Bell Peppers, Onions, Leeks... after they were cooked tender, I added corn starch and made a rue with the bacon fat... added water and milk and instead of using mustard powder, I squeezed in some dijon mustard. Then added the carrots and potatoes. After it was all cooked through, I used the immersion mixer and blended all the veggies. I used a shredded 3 cheese blend that I already hand in the fridge, also added some additional spices for a little extra flavor. Cayenne, paprika, Cumin, a little nutmeg and some basil... At the end I added the bacon crumbles back into the mix... YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdantman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this + bacon = 5stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This is a great recipe with the most interesting flavor. This is most definitely the most fattening recipe for soup ever! My husband and I loved it, though. *Tip* Try it as a creamy sauce for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I liked it, but my husband didn't care for it. Leeks are a little high in are area, so I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I added more mustard and was glad I did, as otherwise it might have been a little bland. But overall my husband I really enjoyed the recipe and will definitely make it again. I also used milk instead of cream and was pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I made this yesterday and it was okay. A little bland, even with some extra mustard. It doesn't need the cream at all, since it purees to a nice texture. I would add a bit of spice and maybe something else (not sure what) to pick up the flavour. I used a very sharp cheddar, and it was still a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Couldn't taste the mustard. Used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream. Used cream cheese (what I had on hand) instead of Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made this for lunch. I didn't add the cream had it handy but just felt it didn't need it. I also used just cheddar as I forgot to buy the gruyere. Instead of the cream I used a splash or two of milk and it was still creamy. We had this with cheese herb bread from this site. Thoroughly enjoyed it thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States