Cheesy Leek and Mustard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
The soup had an excellent flavor, I would definetly make it again. My 8 year old liked it wich says alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This is a great recipe with the most interesting flavor. This is most definitely the most fattening recipe for soup ever! My husband and I loved it, though. *Tip* Try it as a creamy sauce for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a great way to use my leftover leeks. I didn't have any cream, so I just used milk and a full cup of Cheddar cheese. I love the idea of blending the soup to make it creamier, because I don't have a food processor. My friend said this soup tasted very British. My boyfriend was unsure of the leek/mustard comb, but when he tasted it he was only too happy to finish the pot. It was FANTASTIC scooped up with toasted french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This soup was amazing...I added a little more cheese than it called for but it was a wonderful springtime soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
I made this yesterday and it was okay. A little bland, even with some extra mustard. It doesn't need the cream at all, since it purees to a nice texture. I would add a bit of spice and maybe something else (not sure what) to pick up the flavour. I used a very sharp cheddar, and it was still a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I made this for lunch. I didn't add the cream had it handy but just felt it didn't need it. I also used just cheddar as I forgot to buy the gruyere. Instead of the cream I used a splash or two of milk and it was still creamy. We had this with cheese herb bread from this site. Thoroughly enjoyed it thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I added more mustard and was glad I did, as otherwise it might have been a little bland. But overall my husband I really enjoyed the recipe and will definitely make it again. I also used milk instead of cream and was pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
What a unique combo of flavors! I decided not to puree the soup, because I enjoy the potato chunks. Toward the end of simmering, I still thought it tasted 'not quite there' - so I added perhaps 2-3 TBSP of apple cider vinegar. Sounds odd - but it gave it just the right tang and added a bit more depth. I recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
this + bacon = 5stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I liked it, but my husband didn't care for it. Leeks are a little high in are area, so I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States