Cheesy Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I used popcorn flavourings, rather than the yeast, to get the cheese flavour. Although the yeast is fine, I am not a fan of it! I tossed mine in a bit of olive oil, and salted lightly with sea salt, but will add garlic, or seasoning of sorts next time. I'm thinking about salad seasoning, like Mrs Dash or others. I get a seasoning that is for Greek dishes which would be great on the kale. I also used parchemnt on the sheet when baking, as I can mist with my oil mister, and sprinkle the seasoning on easily. Cleanup is a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was insanely fantastic and addicting. I made 5 batches - it was all gone within 24 hours, am now having to make more. Thank goodness there is lots of free kale in the garden. This was enjoyed on ALL ages from 5-70. Even the little kids who were saying "ew" when picking the kale and watching me make it absolutely loved it and I had to take them away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I bought some commercially made chips last week and loved them so I thought they must be easy to make! They are! I used the oven to dehydrate and just a sprinkle of Thai seasoning in addition to the yeast, instead of salt. Delicious!!! Thanks for the awesomely easy recipe! Make sure to buy a couple bunches of kale... The first one will be gone as soon as they're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
These are excellent! Thanks for delicious way to enjoy kale. If you don't have nutritional yeast use parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a really easy, simple, and delicious recipe. I gave my kale a little "massage" to help spread the olive oil around before I added the nutritional yeast and salt to help it stick. I also found it helpful to use parchment on my baking sheet for easy cleanup. As a side note, I made and reviewed this recipe exactly as written. You can't substitute popcorn seasoning for the main ingredient (other than kale) in this recipe and expect to get the same results. It's a totally different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very addictive! I have some more in the oven as I type. My boys love them and requested I go get more Kale. Very simular taste to pumpkin seeds. I added some garlic salt. I know the batch in the oven will be good because they tasted good even before going in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Very yummy. The whole family loves these! I put it all in a gallon ziplock bag, it was much easier to make sure the seasons distributed evenly that way, and your hands don't get dirty; plus then the kids could help. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Great recipe! So much more economical than buying ready-made at the natural foods store. I crush up some cashew nuts to mix with the yeast and give it some more "grab" and substance on the kale. I've tried making kale chips several ways, and this low-temp method seems to be a lot easier. I don't have to "babysit" them so much to prevent scorching. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is so easy and so incredibly delicious. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was super yummy!!! Next time, I'm going to try garlic salt! I bet that would be great too! Great cheesy flavor with the Nut yeast :) I put mine in my dehydrator about 115 to start, then hour later I turn it up to 135 . Total dry time was about 3 hours and they were very crispy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States