Cheesy Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yum! I made four batches: 2 exactly as the recipe called for, one with just olive oil and sea salt, and one with sesame oil, sesame seed and garlic salt. My seven year old daughter ate the entire first batch and came back for more. My favorite of the 3 is this one with nutritional yeast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Absolutely incredibly awesome! Brewers Yeast is awesome on these! My baking times are 20 min - flip kale & rotate baking pans - 30 min - flip kale & rotate baking pans - then 20 min. I've made this recipe 4 times now and have the perfect baking times down :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I tried to make the recipe with some of the add-ins for the paremsan-like sprinkles from another reviewer. I thought this to be ok, but not great. I like the technique of cooking it slower, though it means you have to wait a lot longer for the chips to be ready. I also placed the chips on a cooling rack while cooking to produce a more even crisp and to negate the need for turning. Perhaps it is just my taste buds, I love, love the maple chips and will be applying this slower method to them, but I found the taste while not inedible, not very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I have flat-leafed kale and they were paper-thin so the texture was off-putting but the taste was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
AWESOME! I keep trying to like kale. I have quit trying "chips" because of lousy results, until now. Had to dig out the dehydrator but what a perfect match! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I'm sitting here eating the chips between keystrokes. I did make a substitution, though. Instead of plain kale, I soaked about about a cup of organic edamame beans (soy) for an hour, pureed them in the oil/yeast mixture, and then used the mix to coat the kale. This adds a little to the drying and crisping time (about 10 minutes). But I'm telling you, these are every bit as good as what people are paying $5.99/bag for at health food stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Simple and wonderful. Tastes better than the store bought kind and SO MUCH CHEAPER!!! Thank you so much for sharing. Will make this often, one of my favorite snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Loved it! Instead of just salt and nutritional yeast, I used the recipe for parmesan-like sprinkles: 1/2 cup yeast flakes 1/2 cup ground sesame seeds 2 t garlic powder 1 t onion powder 1 T chicken-like seasoning or salt 1 T lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mspindy
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I used Dino Kale. It is a sweeter Kale that I use in Salads and it was great in the Kale chips. Be careful not to use to much Sea Salt. Use as much nutritional yeast as you want as it gives it that cheesy flavor (I use nutritional yeast on popcorn, yummy) I baked these but I will try a dehydrator next time. I buy Kale Chips commercially and they are an expensive snack. I wanted to make them myself. This recipe was easy. These chips were delicious and addictive. What a wonderful low calorie and healthy snack to have on hand to serve to family and friends!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mspindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was super yummy!!! Next time, I'm going to try garlic salt! I bet that would be great too! Great cheesy flavor with the Nut yeast :) I put mine in my dehydrator about 115 to start, then hour later I turn it up to 135 . Total dry time was about 3 hours and they were very crispy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States