Cheesy Italian Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Put this together in the morning. When I came home to check it at lunch, the house smelled wonderful! The pasta needed to cook just a bit longer than the 15 minutes recommended. Easy and yummy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty Taylor
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe was very easy and went very well. The modifications that I made was that I accidentally added about double the amount of tortellini. To help balance it out I added in more marinara (that's what I had at the moment, this was right before serving). I did not add any cheddar and about half of the mozzarella at the end. The next time that I make this dish I will put the meat, mushrooms, and tomatoes in more equal proportions to the tortellini and marinara. I will also add much less shredded cheese at the end. With the amount I used it was surprisingly too cheesy. Each bite came with a string of cheese attached that got very messy. I also don't feel the need to make this dish in a crock pot, I wasn't able to see the positive results of letting it cook all day. I could be wrong but I feel like it will be just as good when I make it all at once on the stove one evening. What I did like about this recipe that I will take away with me is combining the ground beef and the Italian sausage, it added a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralovesfood!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
From the picture this was not something I was looking forward to trying, but my husband insisted we do. I made a few tweaks along the way.. I used 1lb spicy sausage, just cut it in chucks instead of going thru the trouble of take it out of its casing, I used petite diced tomatoes, meat flavored spaghetti sauce, and 1lb ground turkey instead of ground beef. Instead of cooking the 20oz tortellini in the crock pot, i cooked it separately in boiling water for about 5 minutes, and then added a cup of mozzarella cheese, and a half cup cheddar cheese. lots more flavor, and loved it!! i don't like eating crock pot meals, but we've officially added this to our monthly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My husband loved this. I only substituted ground turkey for the ground beef. Also just added the whole pkg. 19 oz. tortellini, whole pkg. 19 oz ground turkey, 1 hot & 1 sweet Italian sausage (that's what I had) Used the whole jar of marinara sauce which was 25 oz. sprinkled with red pepper flakes while cooking. That made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
We tryed it just the way you suggested and thought it was awesome, although next time I'll add in some 'kick-it-up' spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gibby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was really good!! I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kingsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Best tortellini ever!! I made no changes to the recipe but used a 16-oz bag of frozen tortellini and plain diced tomatoes. Cooked it entirely in my deep nonstick skillet instead of the crock pot. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
yes i tried this recipie, and no need for crockpot, Used onion and bell pepper, used fresh mushrooms, suated, also a clove of carlic, in garlic press, sausage and small amount of hamburger, also used some italin seasons, used parm and mozzerela, cooked in the oven with marnara,at 350 for about 40 min added defrosted mushroom and chz tortilinni, covered with foil, and then uncovered add rest of chz, no cheddar, yumo! thanx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peggy
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Looking good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Excellent and perfect for a "fix-it and forget it" recipe! I added a little minced garlic and chopped onion while browning the ground beef and opted for sweet Italian sausage. For the marinara sauce I used "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" from this site that I had frozen as it's one of my favorites and is perfect for just this type of recipe. I didn't use cheddar cheese as I really didn't think it paired well so instead I used shredded Parmesan. Wonderful served with a fresh garden salad and warm bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States