Cheesy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Excellent side dish. I use the cubed frozen potatoes and used the philly shredded cheddar (the cheese mixed with Philadelphia cream cheese) . I always double the amount of the cheese. These potatoes freeze great, I measure out a dinner portion for 2 and put it in food saver bags and freeze the portions. Use extra corn flakes mixed with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
My family has been making this recipe for years Love it! The only difference between our recipe and this one is we use 4 Cups of shredded cheddar cheese instead of colby it is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have been making these for 20 years at least. I use cream of celery soup and dried onion flakes. Everyone loves these potatoes, especially the kids. Wonderful. In fact included them just this Sunday with ham on a nice picnic buffet. My recipe was called "Picnic Potatoes". I like to use the O'Brien potatoes for the color of the red & green peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
These are yummy. The last time I made them, trying to lighten them up a little, I subbed out half the sour cream for lowfat yogurt, used light sour cream, and 98% fat-free soup.I also left out the melted butter, but I never add that anyway, doesn't seem to do much but add fat. Even with all the substitutions, they still tasted awesome!! Just make sure your hash browns are fully thawed and pretty dry. I usually thaw them in a colander. We also like to add onion to them sometimes, or top with french fried onions, just for a change. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Here in Utah this is called funeral potatoes. It's a Mormon thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This recipe is very good....however I use half fat sour cream, leave out the butter because there is enough fat in the cheese....and also, I use reduced fat cheese........doesn't make any difference in taste. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
A 16 oz container of sour cream is way too much. I made it twice using only 1/2 to 3/4 cup sour cream and it tasted a lot better. Also as written it was kind of bland I also added a very generous shake of seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used o'brien potatoes, with onions & peppers,and extra cheese,really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I have been making this for years and is a perfect, easy side dish to go with BBQ. I add diced green chiles to change it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was amazing! Had some leftover keilbasa from off the grill, cut that into pieces and added it to the dish. Wow! It was so delicious! I went to a birthday party the next day where some cheesy potatoes were served and I kept thinking about how mine had been so much better! Can't wait to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States