Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
There are so many awesome reviews of this recipe that you may never even bother to read mine but . . . we have this at EVERY single family gathering. We have to plan the rest of the food around this recipe because the entire extended family insists upon this particular recipe. Others have brought different versions but they just don't cut it with the "fam." You cannot go wrong if you try this recipe. Don't subsitute cream of chicken or celery soup for the cream of potato. It's a key ingredient and worth the trip to the market to get it if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1798 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is a wonderful casserole. The first time I made this dish my boyfriend thought it was too rich. He decided to give it one more try. I made it this past weekend. He loved it. Instead of using the sharp cheddar, I used medium cheddar. I also added 1/4c red bell peppers, 1/4c green bell peppers, and 1/4c onions, and 1/4c mushrooms. Also after I serve this onto a plate, I grate some fresh parmesean cheese to give it a little kick. The peppers added such a wonderful flavor to this dish. This is going to be a favorite for a long time. Enjoy. Thank you Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
850 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I followed the recipe precisely, and this was yummy. I did cover loosely with foil after about 20 minutes when it looked like the edges were browning too early, but next time I'm just going to let it go. I didn't think a cup of ham would be enough or that this would actually serve 12, but it was just right. I used diced hash browns instead of the shreds, and shredded parmesan from a bag instead of the shaker can. Next time I might throw in some chopped jalapenos or green chiles for more zip -- bacon crumbles would be good too -- and the earlier reviewer's breakfast burrito idea for leftovers also sounds fabulous! This was super-easy to make up the night before. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
605 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made this for a church group and got rave reviews, and many recipe requests. I agreed with other reviewers that it was very salty, if you can use any low sodium ingredients do so. To the reviewer whose results were soupy, I wonder if you might have used ready to serve, rather than condensed soup. Thanks for sharing this recipe! This is an addition to my original review. I recently made this again, I omitted the Parmesan cheese, instead topping it with an additional handful of cheddar. This eliminated the salt problem! Wonderful stuff, try it you will be pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
For my son's First Holy Communion I had the whole family over for brunch after Church. Everyone raved about this recipe and I had to give the recipe to several people, I did make some changes that came out wonderful. I used 1 can of cheddar cheese soup and 1 can of potato soup, I also added bacon and used Oreda potatos O'brien, I can't tell you enough how easy and tasty this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I have made Hashbrown Casserole for many years and I have never had a recipe this good! I made it for twenty one employees for a meeting we had and it was a hit! I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe and this is going to me my main one I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Oh this is good!!! I added green onions and salt and pepper because I can't live without those things in my hashbrowns but even without those this is a great recipe. I took it to my mother's group brunch and while we were cleaning up women were eating the last little bits with their fingers. It was pretty funny. This recipe is also very easy to throw together and I love it with the potato soup instead of cream of chicken which is a variation I have tried in the past. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I made this dish this morning and took it to work. It was a hit. Both males and females asked for the recipe!!. I did follow the suggested changes: 1 can cream of cheddar and 1 can cream potatoe, also added crumbled bacon and 1 8oz sour cream and 1 8 oz. of French onion.. This was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Loved it! I had it for Christmas brunch along with Belgiun waffles and it was a hit. I did make some changes though. I used shredded hash browns, 2 cans of cream of celery soup - healthy request instead of cream of potato. I sauted green pepper and onion and added that. Instead of grated parmesan, I used shredded parmesan. The rest I kept the same. Everyone asked for the recipe!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
My family loves this recipe. i use this alot for carry ins at work. i make it all the night before, throw it in a crock pot on low and let it cook all night. in the morning we have it ready to eat :) we love this!!!! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States