Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I agree with the others.. this is better than other recipies recipes and I think it is due to the potatoe soup. I used frozen O'brien potatoes (with the peppers chopped in it) 1 1/2 bags, 3 cans of soup, shredded cheese from Costco... and everything else it called for... NO EXTRA SALT (the ham was enough). Cut ham into big pieces (not little tiny ones). Everyone LOVED it... really. They ate for breakfast and lunch. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Just made this, but with cracker crumb topping and added 1/2 cup of Pico de gallo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was good but we think that we like this kind of dish better with sausage, instead of ham. If I make again I will use some of my own cooked ham instead of the chopped packaged ham that I used this time. I will say that I did like the potato soup and sour cream flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I'll never put a can of soup in anything as a general thickener, and I don't use processed potatoes when my own fresh are so much better, but I still recommend the recipe. Instead of using 2 cans of processed condensed soup, just cook 6 medium potatoes, cubed into about 1cm cubes, in boiling water for 10 minutes or until the potato is still intact at the edges but is tender to the point of a sharp knife. Withhold 1/2 of water, drain the potatoes, and use the withheld 1/2 water, combined with 1C milk and 1C sour cream, for the sauce. Of course I pan fried the ham with an onion and fresh herbs (1 sprig of chopped thyme, 1 sprig of chopped rosemary and 3 cloves of garlic) until brown first. Delish! Because you cooked the potatoes first in boiled water, the oven time of the recipe is cut by 1/2. You can also finish the dish by broiling it for 5 minutes to give it a lovely brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Loved it! In consideration of what sounded very rich and high in fat I used the ham and potatoes but skipped the parm, cut sour cream and soup in half, added about 1/3 cup low fat milk and used about 12 ozs of shredded cheese blend. I was nervous that I might have ruined it but it was excellent. It was moist and had delicious flavor even the next day as left overs. Thank you for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Very easy. Was a little bland, but I did not use the Parmesan - that might add the zip we were missing with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
yup. yummy. added chicken instead and used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of potato and threw in some garlic and spices. deeeelicious. husband wants it all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Agree-the cream of potato soup is a must. I also sautéed a diced onion with the ham to release ham juices so the end product was not runny. I topped with a few crumbled Townhouse crackers unstead if parm -not too rich or salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Simple and Easy...My families favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I make this all the time! Have gone by the recipe exactly and sometimes use cream of mushroom and cream of chicken instead... Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States