Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Added ground pepper. used obrien potatoes. Used a bag of pre shredded 3cheese cheddar mix. Used a little less Parmesan cheese. (Not box parmesan!). Otherwise the same. Was a hit and none was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Thank you! I have a super picky husband, but this dish went over very well. We were chopping clover the day I made it and had to deliver lunch to all of the guys. Word about the dish got around before I did! One improvisation that I made was that I had lots of leftover pulled pork. I substituted that for the ham, and everyone loved it! Oh, and because we are dairy farmers, I added about 2 extra cups of cheese! This dish was also really easy to make, so this is definitely a keeper! Kerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Yum. That says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Fantastic and very easy to make! Live in NZ and couldn't find the cream potato soup. I used potato and leak soup instead...very nice. I also added 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I loved it and so did my father in law :) think I'm gonna try it with Bacon and Ham :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Made this for a potluck and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Love this recipe! Whole family gets upset if I don't bring it and they fight for leftovers, haha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Delicious & easy! I would've given this a 5, but here's my issue... My hash browns still aren't cooked through (its in the oven as I type) & it's been an hour and 15 minutes. I took it out to taste it @ 1 hr & the flavor was great! I followed the recipe except I omitted parmasean and topped with mozzarella instead, except my potatoes were kind of raw so I put it back in the oven. I thought about thawing the potatoes prior to making but thought surely this step would've been included if it was necessary. So, delicious but be aware if you are in a time crunch such as myself - the parent teacher brunch will have to wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
By virtue of the high ratings and liking the ingredients listed I gave it a try. Can't say it was all that wonderful. Perhaps I just prefer my hashbrowns crisp and this recipe of course doesn't facilitate that kind of dish. The amount of sour cream seemed high and taste stood out. I would only try again with modification of cutting back on the sour cream a little bit and turning the mix towards the end to actually brown some of the potatoes. It's a preference thing. If you don't like your hashbrowns not brown then I would avoid this one unless you were going to turn the mixture at the end of cooking. Perhaps frequent turning under the broil setting. It might be super for those who love sour cream and enjoy eating their hashbrowns without being crisp (the coating of cheese you put on the top hinders the ability to actually brown the potato part. Perhaps I just like mine more done. Another alternative one might try if they like a more cooked taste is set the temp to 400 and cook for 1:15. It's probably not a bad one if you play with it a bit. But as the directions are understand you will likely get what I just described. If you like it that way, great. Obviously many people here did. Don't expect this to have crisp potatoes and do expect a heavy sense of sour cream. I mean 1lb of sour cream is hitting it a tad heavy in my opinion. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Super easy & quick recipe. I added 16oz of ham, garlic & onion powder, black pepper, and chopped onions to the mix. I also only had 1 can cream of potato so I used that plus 1 can of cream of mushroom. SInce so many were saying it was too salty, I used a thin layer of shredded cheddar on top plus a little sprinkle of real parmesan on top (about 4 T) instead of all parmesan. I covered mine with aluminium and rempoved it for the last 20 mins to get brown on top. This is truly a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States