Cheesy Ham and Asparagus Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
This is a very delicious brunch casserole. I cut out the 3/4t of salt because the ham and cheeses I was using were very salty. I had some beautiful fresh asparagus, so I blanched it for a couple minutes rather than using frozen.Wonderful! I baked in an 11X7 dish so that the squares I served were nice and high. Beautiful presentation! If you change the pan size, remember to increase the baking time. My 11X7 took 43 minutes (28 at 425 degrees and 15 at 375 degrees) Halfway through I covered with foil to prevent excessive browning. It cuts better if you allow it to stand 10 minutes prior to serving as the recipe suggests.Great dish, Bettina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I served this recipe to my family for Sunday breakfast, and we all thought it was great. The one thing I would warn people about is that you have to serve it immediately. It comes out of the oven all fluffy, tall, and steamy, but after 15 or 20 minutes it deflates and gets an unpleasant floury taste. Reheating it will not restore its original light fluffy texture. I used fresh asparagus precooked until just tender instead of the frozen, and I would guess that I used closer to 20 ounces than 10. I will definitely serve this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I used egg substitute instead of real eggs, cottage cheese instead of parmesan cheese, seasoned salt instead of regular salt and tarragon, and reduced fat Jimmy Dean sausage instead of ham; I added minced garlic, fresh sliced mushrooms, and sliced zucchini - the result was fabulous! Cooking time was about 30-35 minutes for this. My husband loved it, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This casserole was the main entree for a brunch that I served to a ladies group in April. I host this group once or twice a year and usually have a lot of food left over, but not this time as most had seconds and several asked for the recipe. It was super easy to assemble and as there was no last minute preparations, I could enjoy my guest during the baking and resting time. I will definitely serve this again for one of my brunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Totally awesome recipe! My sister's family loved it as well. I did make some minor changes. I sauteed the pepper and onion in 2 tsp. butter and 1 tsp. minced garlic. I left out the Tarragon and added in 1-1/2 cups mozzarella cheese along with the parmesan. And, I substituted smoked cheddar cheese for the topping! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
We really liked this. I halved it and made it in a pie pan since there were only two of us. I used ricotta instead of parmesan, mixed most of the cheddar into the eggs, and fresh asparagus that I boiled for 3 minutes first. Baked at 425 for 20 minutes then 350 for another 5 min after adding more cheddar on top. I highly recommend the ricotta, it gave it a very creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This recipe is so good. I decided to put the ingredients into a pie shell for a quiche. Definately had to reduce the ingredients but turned out very well. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good--even with canned asparagus (yuck!), we loved every bite. I did not use bell pepper because I don't like it, and I adjusted the ingredients to make about half. It was plenty for my husband and me, and we will be having leftovers in the morning! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I would say this is just average. Not nearly enough flavor for me, and nowhere near as good as any quiche i've ever made in the past. Not that it's bad, it's not. It's just not good enough to make again. I served it for christmas brunch and it was the one item no one went back for seconds on :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I made this for my in-laws last weekend and they both seemed to really enjoy it. My husband did too! I think I will omit the red bell pepper next time I make it because I thought it overpowered the other ingredients too much. I LOVE that it can be fixed a day ahead. It made 11:00 brunch with the in-laws in a busy household a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATRANTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States