Cheesy Ham and Asparagus Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I liked it, the kids were okay with it. It was quite good and will likely make it again, but it wasn't one where people were moaning and begging. I liked, though, that it was a quiche concept without the crust. I don't always want the extra fat of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
We really liked this. I halved it and made it in a pie pan since there were only two of us. I used ricotta instead of parmesan, mixed most of the cheddar into the eggs, and fresh asparagus that I boiled for 3 minutes first. Baked at 425 for 20 minutes then 350 for another 5 min after adding more cheddar on top. I highly recommend the ricotta, it gave it a very creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was good...but if I made it again, I would add the cheese to the mixture instead of sprinkling it on top. I think it tastes better blended into the casserole instead of a hard layer on top. Just a personal preference. Otherwise, had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I followed this recipe, except the only asparagus I had available was an 8oz bag marked "petite" and it was plenty. I have never cooked with asparagus and we liked it very much. I did have to increase cooking time by about 25-30 minutes. The only change I would make is to add the cheddar cheese into the mix before baking, mainly for reheating purposes. I did reheat it for lunch leftovers and it stood up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisakay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Delmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I was very pleased with this recipe. It was very tasty and healthy. I will definately make it for brunches in the future. I would substitute broccolli for the asparagus since so few people like asparagus. I also didn't have any tarragon so I used Paprika and ground nutmeg instead and it still tasted great! Thanks for the good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I really liked this dish but understand why others weren't that crazy about it. It has a mild flavor but that is easily remedied. I always try to follow the directions exactly when I try a new recipe but I made one mistake and one substitution. I didn't have tarragon but used fennel seeds instead (I got that idea from another site that offered a list of substitutions for herbs and spices.) My mistake was that I added the cheddar cheese to the egg mixture, so instead of checking on it after 20 minutes I left it in for a full 30. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I make this casserole for dinner and even my pre-teen girl loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Quick meal to make!! I made this for dinner a few nights ago and my husband ate the leftovers for breakfast today. Great for dinner or breakfast/brunch. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Very easy recipe to put together. I did make it in a deeper dish and it did take about an hour to cook, so keep this in mind. (whine) It is a great dish to make ahead of time and keeps well. Very yummy. Dinner or breakfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Awesome! I did use canned asparagus rather than frozen however and a green bell pepper rather than red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States