Cheesy Ham and Asparagus Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I liked it, the kids were okay with it. It was quite good and will likely make it again, but it wasn't one where people were moaning and begging. I liked, though, that it was a quiche concept without the crust. I don't always want the extra fat of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
We really liked this. I halved it and made it in a pie pan since there were only two of us. I used ricotta instead of parmesan, mixed most of the cheddar into the eggs, and fresh asparagus that I boiled for 3 minutes first. Baked at 425 for 20 minutes then 350 for another 5 min after adding more cheddar on top. I highly recommend the ricotta, it gave it a very creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was good...but if I made it again, I would add the cheese to the mixture instead of sprinkling it on top. I think it tastes better blended into the casserole instead of a hard layer on top. Just a personal preference. Otherwise, had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I followed this recipe, except the only asparagus I had available was an 8oz bag marked "petite" and it was plenty. I have never cooked with asparagus and we liked it very much. I did have to increase cooking time by about 25-30 minutes. The only change I would make is to add the cheddar cheese into the mix before baking, mainly for reheating purposes. I did reheat it for lunch leftovers and it stood up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisakay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Delmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I was very pleased with this recipe. It was very tasty and healthy. I will definately make it for brunches in the future. I would substitute broccolli for the asparagus since so few people like asparagus. I also didn't have any tarragon so I used Paprika and ground nutmeg instead and it still tasted great! Thanks for the good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I really liked this dish but understand why others weren't that crazy about it. It has a mild flavor but that is easily remedied. I always try to follow the directions exactly when I try a new recipe but I made one mistake and one substitution. I didn't have tarragon but used fennel seeds instead (I got that idea from another site that offered a list of substitutions for herbs and spices.) My mistake was that I added the cheddar cheese to the egg mixture, so instead of checking on it after 20 minutes I left it in for a full 30. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I make this casserole for dinner and even my pre-teen girl loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Quick meal to make!! I made this for dinner a few nights ago and my husband ate the leftovers for breakfast today. Great for dinner or breakfast/brunch. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Very easy recipe to put together. I did make it in a deeper dish and it did take about an hour to cook, so keep this in mind. (whine) It is a great dish to make ahead of time and keeps well. Very yummy. Dinner or breakfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Awesome! I did use canned asparagus rather than frozen however and a green bell pepper rather than red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States