Cheesy Ham Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was delicious! I cut the recipe in half and baked in an 8x8 dish as a "side", BUT if I would have known before hand how good this was going to be, I would have not cut it in half and I would have served it as the main course! I have seen similar recipes without the ham. I LOVE the addition of the ham! My daughter actually called me from school this morning asking me to heat some up and bring it to her at lunchtime. Unfortunately for her, she didn't know there weren't any left-overs. She has NEVER called me before requesting I bring her left-overs:) I will definitely be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I used the same ingredients with the same measurements but I added 5 eggs and it was holy cow good! My family ate it all and begged for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is a really nice recipe! No fussing with "cook this" and "chop that", just put it together and bake. It's a "scoop-out" casserole, not like lasagna that will neatly cut into squares. The dish tastes even better the next day. I followed the recipe exactly as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I wasn't overly impressed. I LOVE onion but this was way too much onion. And the cream of chicken soup just didn't seem to "go" with it. Next time I'm going to try doubling the sour cream and omitting the soup, only using half an onion and adding more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Add me to the list of people who think this is one of the best things I ever tasted. And how simple! I used ham which was already cubed so even that little chore was avoided. We ate at least two thirds of this casserole for dinner and finished it off for lunch the next day....and my husband doesn't eat leftovers! Very good, thanks so much, I have added it to my Christmas morning brunch menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was prety good. It was really quick to put together which is nice. My hubby loved it and had 3rds but my kids wouldn't even try a bit because of the way it looked. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Marquard

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wonderful, tasty recipe! I was looking for recipe for leftover ham, and one where I had all of the ingredients. This fit the bill and more. My husband, who normally doesn't like casseroles, and hardly comments on recipes said, "This is delicious!" after the first bite. I had to take the casserole away so he wouldn't eat more than a second helping! The chicken soup and sour cream make for a delicious creamy sauce. The only changes I made were to omit the butter and the added salt -- the dish doesn't need it -- and used low fat cheese and low fat sour cream. This decreased the amount of fat and cholesterol. I'll be making this again! Thank you mambear for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made a half batch of this for dinner last night and it was more than enough for my family. I have small children who are small eaters. I reduced the amount of onion by half and it was plenty, maybe even still too much. I also snuck in some steamed cauliflower, minced small, and no one noticed it was there. You could probably replace a quarter or more of the potatoes with cooked cauliflower because the color and texture are the same as the potatoes. I would be careful of the salt in this dish. I salted pretty heavily for the potatoes and had too much because of the salty ham. The amount of butter seemed high so I used about half in the potatoes and saved some aside to toss with crushed corn flakes and some more cheese to make a crumbly topping. I still felt like it was a little oily. I think I will leave the butter out next time and see if I miss it. My family liked this pretty well and my picky 5 year old finished her plate, so that's good enough for me. Update: Made this again with no butter and no added salt and neither were missed. It was better this time because I actually remembered to thaw the potatoes before mixing. It was much easier to mix and the potatoes cooked through this time with no crunch. Will ALWAYS replace some potato with cooked and chopped cauliflower, what an easy way to sneak in veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Did not add anything extra. It was good just the way the recipe said. My and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
OMG this was so good. I was supposed to have had leftovers for lunches but my brother loved it so much he practically wolfed it all down. I'll admit minor changes. I didn't have sour cream and tried to go without but it was too dry. Only had the one can of the cream of chicken soup so I used a can of cheddar cheese soup. It was AMAZ! So Delicious and full of flavour. Oh I put in extra cheese of course too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Walter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States