Cheesy Ham Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made this recipe today, using sliced russet potatoes instead of the hash browns. I wanted something closer to scalloped potatoes, and of course it took longer to cook, but that was ok. It was tasty, and the right consistency. My only changes were that I used cream of celery soup and omitted the onion, as we cannot eat them. Very simple to put together and minimal ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sicamous, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrissy921
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Wow! This was amazing! I had to cut the recipe in half since there is only 2 of us. My husband says this is a keeper. Thank goodness because I love ham! I used a diced pack of ham and Mexican blend cheese (bc I didn't have cheddar). The sour cream, the cream of chicken and the butter all came through. Be sure to take the tin foil off and let it brown for 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissy921

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmoyer001
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
so easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I have made this recipe a few times now. Honestly, it does not need the cube of butter. I dropped the butter, used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, used whatever cheese I had on hand. All cheddar or a mix of pepper jack, cheddar and italian. I have also cut up and cooked bacon until crisp and used it instead of ham. This is very versatile. If you drop the butter, add a little extra greek yogurt. Maybe 1/4 cup or so. My family loves this recipe. Great for breakfast or a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very good, but just okay as a meal. Best as a side dish or for a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Yes it was very good I juliened fresh potatoes was the only difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I use this recipe to feed at the homeless shelter in our city, they LOVE this dish, my volunteers love making it as well, its an inexpensive dish and it goes far! Thank you for sharing and yes its one of the best comfort foods!! A+++++ (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
As written I would have to give this recipe 4 stars, there is just not enough flavor for us, but I can see it being very appealing to families with little ones! I omit the butter (both for health reasons and because it's a bit oily), shred 5-6 medium potatoes, sub cream of mushroom soup and use an extra sharp cheddar cheese, add a little bit of chipotle powder, diced dried garlic, and lots of freshly ground pepper. I cook it in the crockpot on low for about 6-7 hours or on high for about 4. Sometimes I add some frozen peas about 1/2 way through cooking just to get some more veggies in. It develops a nice crispy crust on the bottom and sides cooking it this way. Total prep time (including shredding the cheese and potatoes is still about 10 minutes). Overall a great adaptable recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
When I was putting this together my husband walked in and reminded me he didn't like this kind of stuff! He was wrong! He loved this! This was gone by the next day and he does not like leftovers either! Will make again. I did add extra cheese and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States