Cheesy Ham Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I think I was expecting this to be a true main dish casserole with the ham in it when I read it, but it is really a side dish and a different take on the hashbrown potato casserole side dish I already make. I doubled the cubed ham when I made it. If I made it again in the future, I would cut back on the butter, triple or quadruple the ham chunks, and put a crunchy topping on top of it. It is was very easy to make and you can walk away from the kitchen for an hour or so, which is nice. It would be a good side dish to bring to a family gathering or potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very simple to make. Instead of sour cream I used two cans of cream of chicken soup. I only used 3/4 of an onion, I'm glad I did. The flavor was nice, but me and my bf agreed the onion was a bit intense (and we both really like onion). I had made frozen veggies to go along with it, we mixed the veggies into the potato bake and it was perfect! It evened out the flavor nicely, even our two year old liked it! I will definitely be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Fines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I use 2 cans of soup or more sour cream when I make this. I like it creamy. Also...the addition of asparagus and/or fresh mushrooms is good too. Serve with a salad and bread. Great make ahead dish that you just have to bake on a busy weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Spencer Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is really good! I added some real bacon bits to it, next time I think I will try green onions on the top in addition. This would make a great breakfast casserole with a poached egg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made a half batch of this for dinner last night and it was more than enough for my family. I have small children who are small eaters. I reduced the amount of onion by half and it was plenty, maybe even still too much. I also snuck in some steamed cauliflower, minced small, and no one noticed it was there. You could probably replace a quarter or more of the potatoes with cooked cauliflower because the color and texture are the same as the potatoes. I would be careful of the salt in this dish. I salted pretty heavily for the potatoes and had almost too much because of the salty ham. The amount of butter seemed high so I used about half in the potatoes and saved some aside to toss with crushed corn flakes and some more cheese to make a crumbly topping. I still felt like it was a little oily. I think I will leave the butter out next time and see if I miss it. My family liked this pretty well and my picky 5 year old finished her plate, so that's good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wonderful, tasty recipe! I was looking for recipe for leftover ham, and one where I had all of the ingredients. This fit the bill and more. My husband, who normally doesn't like casseroles, and hardly comments on recipes said, "This is delicious!" after the first bite. I had to take the casserole away so he wouldn't eat more than a second helping! The chicken soup and sour cream make for a delicious creamy sauce. The only changes I made were to omit the butter and the added salt -- the dish doesn't need it -- and used low fat cheese and low fat sour cream. This decreased the amount of fat and cholesterol. I'll be making this again! Thank you mambear for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was awesome! I followed everything except I had a package of cubed ham that made it even quicker to throw together. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this recipe in my crock pot to take for a team dinner for hungry high school soccer girls. I used broccoli instead of peas. They all loved it. Not a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My wife and I do not like ham very much, but it is one of the few things my daughter will eat, so we gave this a try. It is delicious! I have made it several times and it always turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States