Cheesy Ham Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made a half batch of this for dinner last night and it was more than enough for my family. I have small children who are small eaters. I reduced the amount of onion by half and it was plenty, maybe even still too much. I also snuck in some steamed cauliflower, minced small, and no one noticed it was there. You could probably replace a quarter or more of the potatoes with cooked cauliflower because the color and texture are the same as the potatoes. I would be careful of the salt in this dish. I salted pretty heavily for the potatoes and had almost too much because of the salty ham. The amount of butter seemed high so I used about half in the potatoes and saved some aside to toss with crushed corn flakes and some more cheese to make a crumbly topping. I still felt like it was a little oily. I think I will leave the butter out next time and see if I miss it. My family liked this pretty well and my picky 5 year old finished her plate, so that's good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Wonderful, tasty recipe! I was looking for recipe for leftover ham, and one where I had all of the ingredients. This fit the bill and more. My husband, who normally doesn't like casseroles, and hardly comments on recipes said, "This is delicious!" after the first bite. I had to take the casserole away so he wouldn't eat more than a second helping! The chicken soup and sour cream make for a delicious creamy sauce. The only changes I made were to omit the butter and the added salt -- the dish doesn't need it -- and used low fat cheese and low fat sour cream. This decreased the amount of fat and cholesterol. I'll be making this again! Thank you mambear for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was awesome! I followed everything except I had a package of cubed ham that made it even quicker to throw together. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewleigh
Home Town: Kingfisher, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this recipe in my crock pot to take for a team dinner for hungry high school soccer girls. I used broccoli instead of peas. They all loved it. Not a bit left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My wife and I do not like ham very much, but it is one of the few things my daughter will eat, so we gave this a try. It is delicious! I have made it several times and it always turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My mom made this when I was little. It was Ham Slop to us. All she used was potato slices, gradded cheese, ham cubes, a can of mushroom soup (no water added) and salt/pepper. QUICK and AWESOME and you can make it in a slow cooker too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Yum Yum. I didn't have frozen hashbrowns so I shredded 5 medium potatoes. Also didn't want to heat up the oven so I cooked everything in an electric skillet. Oh my goodness it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I have been making this for years. I omit the butter and add crushed corn flakes to the top. It is a family favorite, comfort food and holiday breakfast tradition. As a matter of fact, I made it this morning to feed the roofers working on my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
A wonderful receipe! Brought it to a church potluck and there was no leftover to bring home. Followed the recipe exactly but omitted the salt. Sprinkled crushed potato chips immediately prior to serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was really good. I had some leftover ham in the freezer from Christmas that I needed to use up and this did the job. Very yummy and filling. My husband had two plates so it must have been good. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States