Cheesy Ham Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mmoyer001
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
so easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I have made this recipe a few times now. Honestly, it does not need the cube of butter. I dropped the butter, used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream, used whatever cheese I had on hand. All cheddar or a mix of pepper jack, cheddar and italian. I have also cut up and cooked bacon until crisp and used it instead of ham. This is very versatile. If you drop the butter, add a little extra greek yogurt. Maybe 1/4 cup or so. My family loves this recipe. Great for breakfast or a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Very good, but just okay as a meal. Best as a side dish or for a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Yes it was very good I juliened fresh potatoes was the only difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I use this recipe to feed at the homeless shelter in our city, they LOVE this dish, my volunteers love making it as well, its an inexpensive dish and it goes far! Thank you for sharing and yes its one of the best comfort foods!! A+++++ (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
As written I would have to give this recipe 4 stars, there is just not enough flavor for us, but I can see it being very appealing to families with little ones! I omit the butter (both for health reasons and because it's a bit oily), shred 5-6 medium potatoes, sub cream of mushroom soup and use an extra sharp cheddar cheese, add a little bit of chipotle powder, diced dried garlic, and lots of freshly ground pepper. I cook it in the crockpot on low for about 6-7 hours or on high for about 4. Sometimes I add some frozen peas about 1/2 way through cooking just to get some more veggies in. It develops a nice crispy crust on the bottom and sides cooking it this way. Total prep time (including shredding the cheese and potatoes is still about 10 minutes). Overall a great adaptable recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
When I was putting this together my husband walked in and reminded me he didn't like this kind of stuff! He was wrong! He loved this! This was gone by the next day and he does not like leftovers either! Will make again. I did add extra cheese and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Cut the recipe in half for our small family. I think it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I don't normally change a recipe before I make it. So, when I made this I only had a 32 oz bag of hash browns. I made according to the recipe except I used too many hash browns, so it looked dry after I cooked it 45 minutes. My husband brought home pizza, so then we cooled and refrigerated overnight. Then I mixed in a can of cheddar cheese soup and a half can of milk and baked for 45 minutes. Best I have ever tasted!I will try it according to recipe exactly next time with cheese soup & see if the taste is that different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The flavor is a bit tasty, but this dish looks very unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States