Cheesy Ham Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
As written I would have to give this recipe 4 stars, there is just not enough flavor for us, but I can see it being very appealing to families with little ones! I omit the butter (both for health reasons and because it's a bit oily), shred 5-6 medium potatoes, sub cream of mushroom soup and use an extra sharp cheddar cheese, add a little bit of chipotle powder, diced dried garlic, and lots of freshly ground pepper. I cook it in the crockpot on low for about 6-7 hours or on high for about 4. Sometimes I add some frozen peas about 1/2 way through cooking just to get some more veggies in. It develops a nice crispy crust on the bottom and sides cooking it this way. Total prep time (including shredding the cheese and potatoes is still about 10 minutes). Overall a great adaptable recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
When I was putting this together my husband walked in and reminded me he didn't like this kind of stuff! He was wrong! He loved this! This was gone by the next day and he does not like leftovers either! Will make again. I did add extra cheese and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Cut the recipe in half for our small family. I think it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I don't normally change a recipe before I make it. So, when I made this I only had a 32 oz bag of hash browns. I made according to the recipe except I used too many hash browns, so it looked dry after I cooked it 45 minutes. My husband brought home pizza, so then we cooled and refrigerated overnight. Then I mixed in a can of cheddar cheese soup and a half can of milk and baked for 45 minutes. Best I have ever tasted!I will try it according to recipe exactly next time with cheese soup & see if the taste is that different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The flavor is a bit tasty, but this dish looks very unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe is great it has alot of flavor and texture but I used tator tots for my recipe and mashed them and it came out great great for any time and not hard to make at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I Didn't change anything. My husband and son both dislike casseroles but loved this. Definitely a keeper. Going in the saved file. Thanks for an easy and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Carmody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I leave out the butter and use light, old cheddar. We LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This one is surprisingly good. My daughter especially enjoyed this one. My wife and I liked this a lot because it has the "warms you up" comfort food feeling on a cold day. This is on the menu for tonight. Definitely can't go wrong with this one - and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was good, I think it would make a good breakfast or brunch dish. I added some spices because I know my family likes spicier food, but I'm sure it would taste fine without additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States