Cheesy Green Bean Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Not the best thing I've ever eaten. As other reviewers said more moisture is needed for the topping of bread crumbs. Next time I will also increase the cheese mixture. Also the flour used to thicken the cheese sauce is almost unnecessary (for me) it gave it a floury taste and I did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Albritton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
It was extremely dry and over powered by the bread topping. I was not impressed at all but will try again with significant modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I liked it well enough. I like the idea of the recipe and will try again using a cheddar or other cheese that is creamy when it melts so that the sauce will seep through the green beans instead of sitting on top of the beans. I found the mozzarella to be to stringy and sticky. I believe I will also replace the bread crumbs with french fried onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I originally found this recipe years ago and added it to my favourite recipes immediately upon using it. I grew up disliking green beans. One year, times were hard, economy was bad and I had just moved and was looking for work, well, I got a food basket and low and behold there were many cans of the dreaded green bean! I needed the food though and set off to find a way to fix green beans that I could tolerate. This recipe was it! I love green beans now and fix this recipe as often as possible, it is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsy.pirate13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I will probably use only 1 cup of breadcrumbs the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this for a potluck and I increased the cheese to 1 1/2 cups as another review suggested. It was great while it was hot, but as it cooled the cheese solidifies (not so great). I will do again but only for home meals. Need to be served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I really enjoyed this dish, however a bit more moisture is recommended for the bread crumb topping. I'm not sure if it was the elevation, but I had to used two eggs beaten in order for the bread crumbs to be moist enough not to fade into sawdust in the oven. I also substituted a cheddar and monterey jack mixture for the mozzarella as I like a little bite. I also sprinkled paprika and fresh ground black pepper on top of the cheese mixture, and grated fresh romano before applying the bread crumbs for a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This wasn't spectacular, but it was an excellent change from plan old green beans. I've only made it once and wasn't displeased. I will definately try again and maybe season it up just a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
Maybe this is a great recipe if you use frozen green beans, but I think it's practically inedible! A friend of mine picked green beans from her garden so I wanted to find a good side dish recipe. The cheesy sauce is wonderful, but the beans are like leather, impossible to chew. I don't know if they got that way from being baked in the oven or if they were too ripe, not ripe enough, etc. At least the rest of it tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shillington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States