Cheesy Green Bean Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I originally found this recipe years ago and added it to my favourite recipes immediately upon using it. I grew up disliking green beans. One year, times were hard, economy was bad and I had just moved and was looking for work, well, I got a food basket and low and behold there were many cans of the dreaded green bean! I needed the food though and set off to find a way to fix green beans that I could tolerate. This recipe was it! I love green beans now and fix this recipe as often as possible, it is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsy.pirate13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
9
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I will probably use only 1 cup of breadcrumbs the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
Really fabulous recipe! The only suggestion I have is to add more mozzerella (I would actually double it next time). This is a good summer OR winter dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
We thought it was Great! My husband went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
Yummy and easy to make. I didn't have mozzarella, so I used parmesan and used soy mozzarella. Everyone at the potluck loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This wasn't spectacular, but it was an excellent change from plan old green beans. I've only made it once and wasn't displeased. I will definately try again and maybe season it up just a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I really enjoyed this dish, however a bit more moisture is recommended for the bread crumb topping. I'm not sure if it was the elevation, but I had to used two eggs beaten in order for the bread crumbs to be moist enough not to fade into sawdust in the oven. I also substituted a cheddar and monterey jack mixture for the mozzarella as I like a little bite. I also sprinkled paprika and fresh ground black pepper on top of the cheese mixture, and grated fresh romano before applying the bread crumbs for a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this for a potluck and I increased the cheese to 1 1/2 cups as another review suggested. It was great while it was hot, but as it cooled the cheese solidifies (not so great). I will do again but only for home meals. Need to be served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I liked it well enough. I like the idea of the recipe and will try again using a cheddar or other cheese that is creamy when it melts so that the sauce will seep through the green beans instead of sitting on top of the beans. I found the mozzarella to be to stringy and sticky. I believe I will also replace the bread crumbs with french fried onion rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States