Cheesy Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Just what you want from garlic bread - golden and toasty with good, fresh garlic flavor and not bogged down with lots of cheese, herbs or mayonnaise. I used butter, not margarine, mixed the freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano right in with the butter and added some chopped parsley for freshness and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This makes a delicious garlic spread. I have made 2 batches already. I double it each time and leave it in the refrigerator and it is there when I need it. I add 1 tablespoon olive oil and I only had Italian seasonings, so used it instead of oregano. One batch I left out the parmesan cheese and was just as delicious. At other times I bake it until it starts to brown around the edges and then put a slice of provolone or mozzarella cheese on it and continue baking until it is melted. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Delicious! I used one whole tsp. of oregano. This is good with or without the parmesan cheese. I baked my bread at 425 for 10-12 minutes until it got brown vs. using the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Very good! I took some previous reviewers' suggestions and added some olive oil , as well as plenty of Italian herbs. I also used this recipe--without the cheese--for croutons and they were superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I used garlic powder (about 2 teaspoons)because I was out of fresh. This was stilll the best garlic bread I've ever had. Not too powerful, didn't leave the salty aftertaste behind... wonderful! Thank you for the great idea, this will be a favorite next to my homemade spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Delicious & easy to make. I added a little more fresh garlic & cheese because my family loves both. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Easy to prepare, topped with some finely shredded mozzerella and a little cheddar before putting under the broiler. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Outstanding! This is a fabulous recipe for garlic bread. Herbs, butter, cheese and garlic... WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE??? I won't ever go back to plain old garlic bread again. Thanks for submitting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used Texas Toast bread for this. It came out really good and not too garlicky. I cut this down to only 4 servings but still used lots of Parmesan. Thanks it had a great flavor from the toasted cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I loved this garlic bread and I wouldn't change a thing. Fresh garlic and dried oregano are the perfect mix. I love fresh garlic so much I am beginning to think it should be it's own food group. Garlic powder just doesn't compare to the fresh stuff. Watch broiling carefully. I broiled it for 3 minutes and the edges turned black. I made this again and broiled for exactly 2 minutes and the bread was perfectly browned. This is my new garlic bread recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States