Cheesy Fried Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I love this recipe with some warm melted cinnamon butter! I've made this a few times and everyone loves it, but I have added 1 extra banana, a touch less of nutmeg, 1 cup of pecans & 1 cup of walnuts, with 1 cup of raisins. And for lining the pan, I mixed white & brown sugar together, this made it easier to spread the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I read thru the other reviews first and decided to mix the flour and parmesan cheese in a bowl first and the dredge the squash slices in the mixture so it wouldn't clump together. I also dipped the squash in Marie's ranch dressing instead of miracle whip. Added a little salt and pepper and it came out great! I would like to try baking these next time instead of frying to make these healthier. Great way to use up squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very good recipe...it made tons. I would cut recipe in half...there are five people in our family and we used half. The only thing I did differently, was to let the squash have more time to drain the water off. Thanks for a great side to my roast chicken. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe is really good but I do not suggest mixing the flour in because it will not stay on the squash too good when you place them in the skillet. Dipping the squash in the flour is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CountryGal6320

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Delicious!! I also followed reviewers suggestions of dipping in flour seperatly rather than mixing it in, I added a little onion powder and garlic powder, plus some good ole salt and pepper to the flour mixture. I also sprinkled parmesan cheese on top everytime I removed some from the pan. Came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
WONDERFUL!!! My husband now LOVES Squash and Zucinni. :-) I did take the advise of others and not put the flour in the mixture before frying. It was WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Not bad, but I think I would prefer it baked instead. Next time I'll substitute bread crumbs or cracker crumbs for the flour as well. I thought the onions were a nice touch though. The kids didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was very tasty. Even my husband, who hates fried food, liked this recipe. Sounds like an odd mixture, but it was a very nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I omitted the onion because I was pressed for time, and instead of salad dressing I used buttermilk, and the results were wonderful! I also added a little finely shredded Colby/Jack cheese to the Parmesan at the end, and that was even better. I'm eating the leftovers for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DooDah2
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I love this recipie. I make it all the time, my whole family gobbles it up. You must cook the squash until it has a bit of a crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States