Cheesy Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I have been making these for quite some time now. I give the original recipe 4 stars, because they are kind of bland. However, I made a few adjustments the second time I made them and this is how I have made them ever since. To the cheese mixture I add four minced cloves of garlic or 1 and 1/2 tsp. powder, a couple of small, cooked, shredded chicken breasts, these are usually leftovers, a can of green chilies, and a small minced jalapeno pepper. In place of the salsa, I use a large can of enchilada sauce. Since I prefer my cheese on top browned, I use the fat free cheese in the cheese mixture, but sprinkle 1/2 cup of a mexican cheese blend over the top along with some chopped green onions. Much tastier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This was a huge hit and very quick to make. We did make a few changes - like some other cooks that reviewed this, we bought a can of enchilada sauce instead of salsa and placed a little sauce on the bottom of the pan (to avoid sticking or burning of the shell). We added a little less cream cheese and a little more cheddar, and placed a small amount of refried beans in each, and enchilada sauce of each shell. Garnished with chopped tomatoes, green onions, and sour cream and the mixture of flavors was very good. The only thing we might change is we might try corn tortillas next time instead of flour - the flour tortillas were very soft and flimsy after being cooked with all the cheese and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Gosh!! I hate to be the sourpuss, but this turned out to be one of those recipes that sounded like it would be great, and was a big disappointment. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I had expected the creamcheese to melt and blend with the cheddar adding a creamy texture. Intead it was just a blob of melted cheese in a shell that while melted did not blend well and tasted overwhelmingly of cream cheese. Very unmexican and the family was disppointed that I had used their favorite cream cheese for bagels to make this disastor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Very disapointing! I did made a few changes to this recipe. I bought a can of enchilada sauce to replace the salsa, and used Mexican 4-cheese blend. Still, the taste of cream cheese was overwhelming. I felt as if I was eating an Italian dish instead of something that was suppose to be Mexican. Even my cheese-crazy husband hated it. If you like cream cheese and your Mexican food less than spicy, you may like this, otherwise, stay away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Very easy recipe....and my 1 year old ate it up quickly. I did use enchilada sauce instead of the salsa and added some green chiles and black beans (per the advice of other reviewers). Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Excellent recipe but it needed a little something extra to make it a more substaining meal. I added chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I made a few adjustments to the recipe, and we loved the results!! I added chicken and spices to the cream cheese. Then before baking, I brushed with garlic butter (or olive oil) and baked for the full amount of time. Then I poured green enchilada sauce over the top and sprinkled the cheese on that. Cooking the tortillas first prevents the sogginess that tends to happen otherwise. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
I also added ground beef to our enchiladas, as we both love meat. I poured Ranchero Sauce on the bottom of the glass baking dish and laid them on top of it. We put some sour cream on top when it was done and it turned out delicious! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Yummy and cheesy..my kids really liked this.I thought maybe just a little salty,but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
we enjoyed this. My 15 month old really liked it. I think next time i make it I might change the amount of certain cheeses(a little tooo cheesy). but all in all it was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States