Cheesy Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I was surprised to be able to make my own Mexian-restaurant-quality cheese enchiladas, plus they are very low-fat and food exchange info is provided. This is our new household favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
These were very quick and easy to make. My husband liked them. I thought they were pretty good but were a little mushy for my taste. I will probably make these again but put less filling per tortilla and cook longer since mine were not hot enough when removed from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
My kids loved and it is fast, but I would want to add something the cheese mixture. It feels too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These were a little too mushy. It just seemed like they were missing something. Nextime, maybe I'll add some kind of chicken or something to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I made mine with ground lean beef (sauteed onions and green chilies with meat) and used slightly larger tortillas to accomodate. These were very good! Approved by whole family - even husband who usually doesn't like Mexican. Serve right out of the oven - or else cream cheese becomes thick again and very heavy. Not as good as some longer Mexican recipes but so much quicker and easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
My kids loved this and it was so easy as well. I started them the night before and all I had to do before dinner was put on the sauce and cheese and bake them. I think it needs a bit more cooking time than stated in the recipe and I added a bit of cottage cheese for fun which tasted great. I think it would be great to add some finely chopped cooked vegetables for a nice all in one balanced meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
I loved this recipe! It was quick and easy and delicious. I can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I have been making these for quite some time now. I give the original recipe 4 stars, because they are kind of bland. However, I made a few adjustments the second time I made them and this is how I have made them ever since. To the cheese mixture I add four minced cloves of garlic or 1 and 1/2 tsp. powder, a couple of small, cooked, shredded chicken breasts, these are usually leftovers, a can of green chilies, and a small minced jalapeno pepper. In place of the salsa, I use a large can of enchilada sauce. Since I prefer my cheese on top browned, I use the fat free cheese in the cheese mixture, but sprinkle 1/2 cup of a mexican cheese blend over the top along with some chopped green onions. Much tastier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
My family really enjoyed this dish. It was simple to make AND very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Gosh!! I hate to be the sourpuss, but this turned out to be one of those recipes that sounded like it would be great, and was a big disappointment. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I had expected the creamcheese to melt and blend with the cheddar adding a creamy texture. Intead it was just a blob of melted cheese in a shell that while melted did not blend well and tasted overwhelmingly of cream cheese. Very unmexican and the family was disppointed that I had used their favorite cream cheese for bagels to make this disastor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States