Cheesy Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I didn't have any stuffing, but I did have some dried bread I was saving to make breadcrumbs. I chopped that up and used it in place of the stuffing. I also added more italian seasoning and some canned, diced tomatoes (about 1/4 of a big can). It turned very nice. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Pretty tasty. I didn't have a whole eggplant so I used half a large eggplant, and a bag of spinach, cooked and mixed with 1 tsp crushed garlic. Be sure to add the raw egg BEFORE adding the warm spinach! Also I precooked the stuffing earlier and let it cool. Instead of cheddar cheese I mixed in 1/2 cup cottage cheese, and topped it with Mozarella. I don't know if this lightened up the fat content much but it tasted good. It made a rich-textured comfort food type casserole. There was none of that tartness often associated with eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was a flop for me! It was too strong with herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redwood Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This dish was disgusting. I followed the recipe to a tee- didn't read the reviews before where I saw that most modified it extensively. This was a waste of a good eggplant. I am still pissed. I would give it 0 stars b/c it was not edible, but it won't let me rate 0.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Was looking for a recipe that didn't include tomatoes. This was really good, but I did modify it quite a bit. I used regular bread that I allowed to dry and I used fresh herbs. I added another egg and extra cheese. I also used 3 Japanese eggplant rather than one Aubergine. If I make this again, I will cut back the bread to just a wee bit of bread crumbs and rather than micro the eggplant I will roast it. Decent all around flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I have never cooked eggplant before, so I went looking for a recipe, my family is big on cheese when it is a recipe. I have made my own adjustments to this recipe. I used italian breadcrumbs instead of a instant stuffing mix. I also used garlic salt instead of fresh garlic,I cooked the eggplant in a large pot using half a stick of real butter and a little bit of olive oil and it is moist. I ccoked off my ground meat and added it to the mixture, I also put fresh shrimp in the mixture, then I seasoned it to taste and put it in a casserole dish and added the cheese. I would suggest that if it is too dry for you add a little bit of broth to the recipe while it is cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I've never had eggplant let alone cooked it. Hubby's first remark when I brought eggplant home..."That stuff is gross". In regards to this recipe I took others' advice and added tomatoes, doubled seasoning...but, I added chicken (boiled and shredded)...YUM!!!! Hubby said i could cook this again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
bland flavor even with some savory herb dressing. maybe some butter or red hot pepper flakes to shake it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
this was a good recipe. my family injoyed it. Taking others comment it was too dry, I choose to cange a few things. 1st, added mushrooms ( high water retention) and 1/4 cup milk. With this in mind the recipe came out moist and was very tasty. we plan to keep enjoying this one. We choose 5 med to large fresh mushrooms. We also added some color bell peppers for accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
It didn't have much flavor and had a boring texture. I sauteed the onions & garlic and added it to the eggplant. I used 1/3 C onions and 2 eggs. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States