Cheesy Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
excellent - with changes. I made it the way it was written the first time but thought there was way too much cream. The second time I sauteed the onion & garlic in butter, precooked & drained the spinach and added it to the pot and added about 1/4 cup 1/2 & 1/2, a heaping tablespoon of reduced fat cream cheese and about 1/4 cup parmesan and a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg and it was to die for. Rich and creamy...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rainess Jordan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Excellent! I thought the measurement of '6 slices provolone cheese, shredded' was a little funky so I diced my 6 slices and measured it. Its about 1 1/4 cups, equivalent to shredded, so about the same amount of provolone as cream, in case you are puzzled like me. I made this recipe as written. Yummy, garlicky-cheesy good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
All my favorite ingredients - cheese, butter, garlic, cream and on! This had lots of flavor and was excellent. I was looking for something to mix with pasta, so it didn't matter that it was a bit thin due to using 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream. It made quite a nice dish and thickened as it cooled. I'll do it again... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was awesome but I just used things I had at home. I used whole milk to make this and only used about a cup. I never have cream so I wanted to make sure it was okay to use just milk. I used 2 cloves of fresh garlic, just a little minced onion, and salt and pepper to taste in a saucepan on the stove in the milk. I wilted the fresh spinach in the microwave for like 2 1/2 minutes in a steamer. I chopped it up and added it to the milk mixture. I just kept cooking more spinach until it looked like enough. I had a huge bag though so that is why I could just keep doing that. I sprinkled parmesan cheese on the top and it was perfect. Thanks for the starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I used frozen spinach but other than that kept the recipe as is and it is WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious. A few problems with the recipe though. #1 problem- 3 bags of spinach is not going to fit even in the biggest skillet. I used a giant pot until it wilted down then I finished the recipe in a deept skillet. #2 problem --For the beginner in the kitchen (not me) the measurement "6 slices of shredded provolone cheese" was not exactly accurate. How much is a slice? 1oz? Less? Not sure. You can't shred a slice of cheese either. LOL. Cups or ounces would be better or else it gets intimidating for someone to not know how much to actually use or doesn't know how to eyeball yet. If you've made creamed spinach before, not so scary since you know what it looks like while cooking. Otherwise more accurate measurements are better. I used about 9oz cheddar and parm combined. #3 problem--1 1 and 1/4c of liquid is too much. I used 1c heavy cream 1/4c half n half. The spinach is literally floating (albeit in a yummy cheesy garlicky sauce). I had to add a TBSP of flour to thicken the sauce. I would cut it down to 3/4c or add little by little to see as I go. I tried to squeeze as much water from the spinach but maybe that's why its too liquidy. I should have squeezed harder! This is a great base recipe to experiment with different cheeses and lower fat liquids and great for low carb dieters. YUMMM. Sorry about the critique on the actually recipe but I feel like no one should be afraid to cook and inaccurate recipes can easily scare a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I normally don't like spinach but this was amazing. The did substitue the cheese. I found a shredded blend of mozzarella and parmeasen cheese and that work out great. I also added less onions. Diffently will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Of course I had high hopes for this and thought it would be delicious or I wouldn't have tried it...but I was let down. I didn't have provolone on hand (Hubs detests it with a passion) but I did have a good Italian Fontina. Unfortunately it was, "rich, heavy, and creamy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Great and easy recipe using FRESH spinach. Frozen spinach is not a good substitute for fresh in this type of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Love this! This is definitely better than any restaurant brand. With the exception of extra garlic, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States