Cheesy Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Yummy. Put a pinch of red pepper and used at least 1 teaspoon of garlic powder with salt and pepper. I didn't have any cream to I cut up 1/4 of cream cheese package and added it. Didn't have any cheese but Asiago cheese so I just used what I had. Next time I will try it with frozed spinach because I usually have that in my frig. Also, when I can find creamed spinach I just doctor it up a little bit. Also I sometimes use scissors to cut the spinach smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have loved this recipe since the first time I tried it, so much so that I have made some additions that I believe improve on a wonderful recipe. I use 50% more garlic and an entire small white onion. I also add pancetta or thick cut bacon slices and sliced then chopped mushrooms when cooking the onions and garlic. It's so delicious and rich. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Loved this, used skim milk and added american cheese since that is all I had. It was still very rich tasting, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This was SO good!!! However, I took the EASY road because I didn't leave myself a lot of time for a side dish, nor did I have all the ingredients. Here's how lazy I was...I used onion powder instead of onions, garlic powder instead of actual garlic, Half and half instead of cream, and cream cheese instead of the provolone. It was STILL so good, I can only imagine what it would taste like if I actually used the real ingredients! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I used Mozzarella instead of provolone, but I did think that the heavy cream was way too much. Mine turned out soupier than I'd liked. Next time I'll try the provolone and less heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent!! I love spinach, but the rest of the bunch usually won't eat it (even creamed that I've made before). I halved the recipe for 4, but wish I wouldn't have. They ate every bite and were looking for more! I did sub good quality sharp cheddar for the provalone (didn't have any). Also added about 2 tblsp. cream cheese and a few dashes of nutmeg following another reviewer's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I always try to follow each recipe to the letter when I first try it. As I'm handicapped, I can't jump in my car and run to the grocery for an impulse recipe I have to try NOW!! Very simple - I used frozen spinach, mild cheddar instead of provolone AND a tad of fresh grated nutmeg (I use it in all my greens). It is SO good! I ate half of it for my lunch just now, with some wheat crackers. YUM-M!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was wonderful! it is just different enough from spinach artichoke dip that you can get away with it for a side dish! I also used frozen spinach, added dried minced onions, and covered it in a pan while warming. I also used about a table spoon of Better than Bouillon chicken flavor. I used 3 slices of provolone, and a large handful of shredded mozzarella. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was really good. I put two dashes of nutmeg in, used only about 3/4 cup of 2% milk and used a mix of cheddar, monterrey jack, parmsan for the cheese as well as boullion granules (about 1/2 tsp of) and the flavor was great. Coarse black pepper ground over (a few twists) toward the end and it's nice that the spinach is not overcooked. I used fresh spinach and cut in 1/2 inch strips with knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was good, but a little overpowering with so much garlic and the types of cheeses called for (I suppose this could have been due to the brand I used: Boar's Head...). I even reduced the garlic to only one tablespoon and it was still too strong for us. I would make this again using less garlic and milder cheese, perhaps a bagged white cheese blend instead. I think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States