Cheesy Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent!! I love spinach, but the rest of the bunch usually won't eat it (even creamed that I've made before). I halved the recipe for 4, but wish I wouldn't have. They ate every bite and were looking for more! I did sub good quality sharp cheddar for the provalone (didn't have any). Also added about 2 tblsp. cream cheese and a few dashes of nutmeg following another reviewer's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I always try to follow each recipe to the letter when I first try it. As I'm handicapped, I can't jump in my car and run to the grocery for an impulse recipe I have to try NOW!! Very simple - I used frozen spinach, mild cheddar instead of provolone AND a tad of fresh grated nutmeg (I use it in all my greens). It is SO good! I ate half of it for my lunch just now, with some wheat crackers. YUM-M!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was wonderful! it is just different enough from spinach artichoke dip that you can get away with it for a side dish! I also used frozen spinach, added dried minced onions, and covered it in a pan while warming. I also used about a table spoon of Better than Bouillon chicken flavor. I used 3 slices of provolone, and a large handful of shredded mozzarella. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was really good. I put two dashes of nutmeg in, used only about 3/4 cup of 2% milk and used a mix of cheddar, monterrey jack, parmsan for the cheese as well as boullion granules (about 1/2 tsp of) and the flavor was great. Coarse black pepper ground over (a few twists) toward the end and it's nice that the spinach is not overcooked. I used fresh spinach and cut in 1/2 inch strips with knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was good, but a little overpowering with so much garlic and the types of cheeses called for (I suppose this could have been due to the brand I used: Boar's Head...). I even reduced the garlic to only one tablespoon and it was still too strong for us. I would make this again using less garlic and milder cheese, perhaps a bagged white cheese blend instead. I think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
use cream cheese in it! mmmm yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I make this for my daughter all the time but make it a little healthier. It still ends up being very rich tasting and nobody notices the missing calories. I use milk, not cream, and throw in a tablespoon of flour to thicken it up a little. I use a dash of cayenne pepper for a little kick. Instead of butter, I use Earth Balance or Smart Balance and I ALWAYS use organic baby spinach. Conventional spinach is absolutely loaded with pesticides, more so than other veggies. It's much better for you with those little tweaks and still sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very cheesy! Not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This was delicious! My kids didn't care for it, but my husband and I loved it! I only changed the recipe slightly, as per other reviewers' suggestions - I only used 2 T. butter, 1 c. heavy cream, I added a dash of nutmeg, and I used a blend of mozzarella and Parmesan because I didn't have provolone. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Simply for the reason of cutting back on calories I used less cream, otherwise followed recipe exactly. This was amazing, I am looking forward to making it again! I have added this to our Easter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blonde farm girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States