Cheesy Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Here's how to really simplify and make this recipe lower fat without sacrificing the flavor. 1)Reduce butter to 2 tbsp, max, and can even substitute favorite oil 2)Replace heavy cream with equal amount of milk (any fat content) mixed with 1 tsp cornstarch 3)If using frozen spinach, defrost in microwave in original package(s) instead of in another skillet (seriously, who wants to wash an additional dish?) 4)Consider adding just a tiny dash of nutmeg :) 5)Consider squeezing an additional clove or two of garlic directly into the skillet right before turning off the heat, for a more robust garlicky flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Yum! I didn't have provolone so I used mozzarella instead, sauteed the spinach in a dab of olive oil, increased the onion, and used ground white pepper since it is lighter in color and flavor. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Mmm Mmm good! The only thing I did different was to use only 1 cup cream (which was enough), added 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, & only used 4 slices of cheese. Turned out GREAT & I would not recommend using anything other than FRESH ingredients. Served 8 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
So good, even the kids loved it!! I used 1 cup half & half instead of heavy whip, 2 1/2 c. bag of shredded parm, and 4 oz of cream cheese, as well as the 6 slices of provolone. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Man, this was seriously good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I love this recipe! It's so easy to make and even my 3.5 year old LOVES it! I substituted whole milk for the heavy cream and omitted the onions (because I didn't have either)...super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Iowa, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious taste. I made it using the 5 servings conversion. Only complaint was the amount of heavy cream, which called for 1/2 cup and 2 Tblspn. After making the recipe this way, it turned out to be too much. This may not be the fault of the recipe author, as it was an allrecipes.com conversion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cryingwolf110583
Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
WooooHooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
So so so good! Really looking forward to eating it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is delish! Made this recipes exactly as it is called for. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMONEY1

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States