Cheesy Creamed Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Pretty good with some changes. After reading the previous reviews I made the following changes to the recipe in order to give it a more 'dinner-time' flair: (1) used 1 1/2 cup of sour cream instead of 2 cups; (2) Added 1/4 tsp ground pepper; (3) 1/4 cup milk for additional creaminess; (5) crumbled 4 slices of cooked bacon into the recipe; (6) Sprinkled the top with fried onions and light amount of shredded cheese. The previous reviewers are right about an entire packet of onion soup mix giving this dish a little too much saltiness or onion flavor. But all in all a good recipe base from which to build to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I would give this 5 stars but that wouldn't be fair as I did not follow the recipe exactly so I will give it four. I made a few tweaks to this and it came out delicious. I used only 1 cup of sour cream. I don't think using 2 is really necessary as you are going for a casserole and not spinach dip. Also, per another reviewer's suggestions, I added about half a cup of crumbled bacon to it and used vegetable soup mix instead of onion. Finally to make this more "casserole"y, I added 2 cups of penne pasta to the mix. Combined and put in casserole pan and then topped with a 4-cheese blend of Colby, Mozzarella, Monterey Jack and Cheddar. It came out delicious. I love spinach dishes so I will definitely make this again. I highly recommend this dish to anyone with kids who has to think of ways to get them to eat their greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
The taste is wonderful, but, as is, this is more of a dip than a casserole. If you add a couple of eggs (I add some bread crumbs or crackers too for more substance), then it holds together more like a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
My father-in-law liked this dish but I did not care for it. It just tasted like onion soup mix. I like onion soup mix, but I wanted a spinach dish, not an onion dish. The second time I made it I used Ranch dressing dry mix and added sour cream and it tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I used a big pkg of FRESH spinach, only 1/2 of Lipton Soup mix and added a few croutons on the top for some crunch. It was perfect. Great 'comfort' food and quick & easy. If you used a whole pkg of soup mix, it'd be too too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I have made this dish several times and it was received with great enthusiasm by my husband. We are both always looking for different ways to eat our greens so this dish has become popular in our household. I substitute the onion soup mix with vegetable soup mix instead (the flavour is more mellow that way and goes better with other foods.) Tonight, I added leftover chicken and my husband went wild. This dish is a great starting point for adding leftovers or getting creative. Have fun with it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
This receipe was ok. I will not try again. I thought it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
What is the missing ingredient? Something is wrong. The sour cream curdled. It was runny. There was the overpowering flavor of onion soup mix. Worst results of any of your recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I used Lipton onion soup mix for this. Don't know if it was the mix or something else, but this tasted like it had vinegar in it, which it didn't. I served it to my family and no one ate more than a couple of bites. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Great casserole. Tips: Use 1 and 1/2 cups fat free sour cream for less fat and less run. Leftovers are GREAT for a cracker dip after chilled in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States