Cheesy Creamed Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was great. I had some fresh spinach instead, so I steamed it before mixing. My daughter, who hates veggies, ate it all up in one go. This never happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Loved, loved, loved this recipe. It was so simple to put together and very flavorful. I only had about 1 1/4 cups sour cream, so I added a nice sized splash of milk for extra creaminess and some garlic powder too. Also, because I didn't read the recipe correctly I added the cheese in with the other ingredients, but it was fine, we LOVE cheese. I still added cheese to the top before baking. This is a definate keeper! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
i did change this up a bit...used 8 oz of cream cheese instead due to being out of sour cream. then added italian seasoning, garlic salt, 1/2 cup real bacon bits, then added 2 cups of egg noodles, topped it off with french fried onions...yummm. it was great!! i did cover it so that the cheese would not burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Great way to prepare spinach, I would add some more things to it to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasbaker25
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Wasn't crazy about it, but I'm guessing that if I'd altered it like many other reviewers did, it would have been right for me. Adding cream cheese, maybe? It wasn't as creamy as I'd have hoped; the sour cream seemed to break down and kind of separate in the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I remember this recipe from my childhood. I wanted to do a spinach dish for Thanksgiving and decided this one sounded familar. I did make a few adjustments: I used about 1/2 the onion seasoning, and only a cup of sour cream, and added a dash of half and half. It turned out to be yummy. My husband and teenagers said they want it to be a regular dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I would have given this a 5 but it needed a little tweaking. Cut the onion mix as suggested by others in half and used onion/garlic powder. Used 1 c of sour cream and 8ox cream cheese and a tsp of nutmeg. Maevelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I would give this 5 stars but that wouldn't be fair as I did not follow the recipe exactly so I will give it four. I made a few tweaks to this and it came out delicious. I used only 1 cup of sour cream. I don't think using 2 is really necessary as you are going for a casserole and not spinach dip. Also, per another reviewer's suggestions, I added about half a cup of crumbled bacon to it and used vegetable soup mix instead of onion. Finally to make this more "casserole"y, I added 2 cups of penne pasta to the mix. Combined and put in casserole pan and then topped with a 4-cheese blend of Colby, Mozzarella, Monterey Jack and Cheddar. It came out delicious. I love spinach dishes so I will definitely make this again. I highly recommend this dish to anyone with kids who has to think of ways to get them to eat their greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I liked this very much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States