Cheesy Creamed Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I read through about the first 20 reviews and decided to try making my own spinach casserole. I used fresh cooked spinach, 1/2 pkg of French onion soup, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, crumbs of crackers and croutons, 1 egg. Did not use milk due to the fact that spinach has a lot of water in it. Put mix in pan, topped it off with Colby, pepper jack, cheddar, and regular jack cheese. Sprinkled crispy French fried onions and grated Parmesan. It was so delicious with all the different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Vasquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Of course I didn't have sour cream (which never happens!!!) so I substituted it with evaporated milk and a dash of lemon juice. (Google substitutions) I would recommend using half a can evaporated milk instead of the whole thing, because it's way to runny then. I used onion mushroom soup mix and went nuts with a whole bag of shredded cheese! I used the 24 ounce package of frozen spinach...more is better!! It was so good, my daughter and I refused to share with anyone else! We nearly ate the entire dish in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by perplexitybt
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
After reading other reviews I used less sour cream and added French's Onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Similar to others (and because I cook "low salt") I only used about one-third of the onion soup mix. I did used cooked swiss chard from the garden, cooked with one Walla Walla sweet onion, once for this recipe, and several times with spinach or mix of spinach and chard. We really like this and when I made for my brother's family Sept 2014, they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Easy/tasty and a great low carb side dish. Maybe the people that had a difficult time with it being too soupy did not "squeeze" all the liquid out of it. I am trying it today with the Knorr mix and a variety of cheeses that were left in the fridge. I ran out of Dry onion soup. I don't see any reason though that you can't add some regular sauteed onion and then some spices/herbs. This is a good base recipe and flavor it to your liking. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
My large family of 20 and I loved this recipe. We didn't think there was too much onion soup mix and we didn't think it was too much like a dip (like other reviewers.) I made it exactly as the recipe said and I will definitely make it many times more. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
We all loved this. I did sautee garlic with the baby spinach (fresh, not frozen). Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I made it as written except I cut the sour cream in half. It would have been waaaay too soupy if I had followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
amazing! Tried it with 2lbs of spinach and the dip amount was perfect - added bacon and topped with french fried onions and I couldn't be happier with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I think it came out great! My folks loved it. Definetely will make it again next year for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States