Cheesy Cornbread Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I took a lot of the reviews of this recipe and adapted them. I didn't have enchilada sauce. I had a can of green chili's and added that. Homemade rotel. Black olives. I also used two boxes of cornmeal. What a fantastic dinner. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
So good! Just made this and it was so quick and easy. I picked a really hot jalapeño so it was delicious and fiery. I think I'll add a can of corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Delicious! I used 1 lb of hamburger and I had 1 lb of hot ground sausage so I added that. I also used 2 boxes of cornbread and used pepper jack cheese. A little dollop of sour cream when it was finished... Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Yum! I used 20 ounces of enchilada sauce (2 10 ounce cans) so it would have more sauce when it was reheated and I wouldn't have leftover sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I fixed this tonight for the hubby. We loved it! I always read the comments and made the adjustments as recommended. The only thing I did different was to use a SWEET cornbread mix. I loved the dish!!! We will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My husband, daughter and I really liked it... my son not so much. My husband said "This goes on the list of things to keep making," I did double the Muffin mix we all agreed that while it tasted good (to three of us) it was too much and left me wishing I had doubled the meat mix as well. That was my son's problem he didn't like the top so there wasn't enough meat. Next time if I double the topping I'll double the bottom or keep portions as suggested and use a slightly smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I sustituted salsa for the enchilada sauce just because I really dislike enchilada sauce. It tasted really good with the substitution. I baked it in a 9x9 dish. It worked well but I'd recommend baking 40-45 minutes. After 20 minutes the cornbread topping was still pretty raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
We liked it - but didn't LOVE it. In fairness, I substituted a can of rotel tomatoes for the enchilada sauce. But it wasn't the flavor we didn't like, it was the consistency. It was basically a loose consistency of ground beef, beans, and tomatoes under the cheesy cornbread topping. Anyway - hubby liked the beef part - and I loved the cheesy cornbread topping part - so it all got eaten. I decided to do it all in one pan, so I cooked the beef mixture in a cast iron skillet, then just topped it with the cornbread/cheese topping and threw it in the oven. Worked perfectly! The pan was small enough that there was no need to double the cornbread, as others have suggested doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Really really good. I left out the beans (husband doesn't like them)and added a can of chopped green chilies instead of the jalapeno (I don't like them). Also I made my own cornbread instead of using packaged. Definite keeper and will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My family loved this. They even ate leftovers the following day which is very rare in my house. I added extra jalapeno and used spicy pinto beans as well as hot enchilada sauce. I doubled the corn bread like other reviewers suggested. Next time i might double the meat mixture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States