Cheesy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
For a few basic staple ingredients, this was pretty darn good comfort food! Like most reviewers, I used two cans of condensed soup as well (celery & chicken). I spruced up the soup mixture by adding a generous amount of garlic/onion powders, an eyeballed amount of pepper and paprika, 1/2 c shredded cheddar cheese, 1/4 c shredded parmesan cheese and a 1/2 c french fried onions. Before I added the french fried onions, I spread a very thin layer of the soup mixture on the bottom of the baking dish before placing the chicken breasts over it. Finally, I covered with foil and baked 45 minutes (I used the thin-cut breasts). The last two minutes, I uncovered and topped with a few more french fried onions and broiled to get a nice crunchy top. Delish! Served with some frozen corn and garlic mashed potatoes. Husband already asked me to make this again, so it's a keeper for that reason alone. Endless possibilities on this recipe with cheeses, toppings, and veggies...love recipes like this! Thanks for the submission.--------UPDATE 1/14/12......made this again tonight, this time using 1 can cheddar cheese soup & 1 can cream of chicken. Even better!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This was a great recipe! I will make it again. I used Cream of Chicken soup instead of Celery, and also used sliced Cheddar Cheese- worked great! I would recommend loosely covering the dish so the croutons don't get too dry. I used a garlic-cheese flavored crouton, and WOW, was it great. We didn't have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was simple and tasty. I had all the ingredients so I threw it together. You want to use two cans of cream of celery soup, a little more shredded cheddar with a little more croutons on top. I didn't really measure; I just threw all the ingredients on top of the chicken and covered it with foil. It came out pretty tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Very tasty. I used a family size can of cream of chicken soup because I wanted extra sauce. I served the chicken and the sauce over egg noodles. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This was so quick and easy to make.. and delicious! My roomates loved it. I crushed the croutons and also covered the dish with foil while cooking which made the sauce creamy and delicious. The chicken was very moist! ;) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2001
I love this recipe!! I changed it a bit - used cream of mushroom soup, swiss cheese and stuffing mix rather than croutons and it was delicious. My only warning is that if your kids are picky about the way food looks they won't like this because it honestly doesn't look very apppealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Followed the advice of other reviewer and loosely covered the chicken. Husband loved it, I thought it was good too....but not wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJPasqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I slightly seasoned the chicken with garlic and made it in the crock pot. I just threw all the ingredients in, and set it on high for 4 hours. I served the chicken over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe is awesome. Moist chicken with a creamy cheesy sauce. Goes great with rice and whichever veggie you decide on the side. Super easy to throw together, not a lot of ingredients and super tasty..don't forget to spray yor baking dish with nonstick cooking spray. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
My husband and 18 year old son loved this! I layered 10 chicken breasts (salt & peppered), 2 cans of cream of chicken soup, 8oz shredded Mozzarella and 8 oz. shredded cheddar, and topped with 1 pkg of Stove Top stuffing seasoned croutons. Cook as instructed on recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States