Cheesy Chicken and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was very good. I did season with some garlic and crushed red pepper for some kick. My family enjoyed this as well. I think next time I might just leave out the cheese altogether. It was good with cheese but I think it may be better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was delicious! I followed the recipe as stated only I omitted the cheese. Really didn't need it unless you want a cheesy rice. Best yellow rice and chicken I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa~May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. First time I've used Goya Yellow Rice, and I can't say enough about it, it simply tastes like the real deal. No more Vigo, Goya is the brand I'll use moving forward. This recipe is quick enough for a weeknight meal, and your family will love you for making this. I agree with previous reviewers that the cheese really isn't necessary, I won't be using it the next time. This one's going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I thought this was pretty good. I mostly have tried the Goya beans and this was my first time trying the boxed rice and even the Adobo seasoning. The Adobo seasoning, is very much in taste to me like a mix between garlic powder and garlic salt. I will definitely use it in other recipes. Using both items made for a very quick meal with seasoning built right in. I liked how this recipe also incorporated fresh tomatoes, a green pepper, and onion. The only thing is I really liked the chicken and rice before adding the cheese. It tasted more authentic to me and I am actually surprised I made a chicken and rice dish that looked like it took more time than it actually did to make. Possibly, the cheese makes it more kid friendly though. The second thing is, it was a little more salty than I normally make food. However, the Adobo seasoning amount says season to taste, and I may have just went too heavy handed on that. Either way, TY Goya for the quick and easy meal idea to get dinner on the table this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is a very flavorful dish. I used yellow and orange peppers that I had on hand so it wasn’t as colorful as it could have been, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
We loved this recipe. I was short on time and this came together with minimal effort and a big payoff. sBeing vegan, I substituted Beyond Meat strips in place of chicken and for the cheese, used 1/4 cup nutritional yeast and just shy of 1/4 cup of vegan cheddar. I also used about a half can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes in place of fresh because I didn't have any fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
What can I say...another winning recipe from Goya(R)! This was so simple to make, and the end results were delicious. I did make a last minute decision to not add the cheese b/c I wanted a really authentic flavor, and the cheese didn't seem like it was needed, IMO..I will be making this again and often~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Flavorful, but needed some tweaking. I sliced a sautéed chicken breast and served on top of the rice. Rice mixture is salty. Contains MSG and Yellow Dye No. 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. It seemed like more of an American version of a Mexican dish, so I felt my family would try it first without complaining. It was delicious. I think the only thing I would do different next time will be to omit the tomatoes. It was all I tasted with the rice, and I felt it took away from the dish. Also, keep the Adobo seasoning. It really made the dish tasty and gave it a wonderful flavor. I also kept the cheese on the side, and I am glad that I did. My daughter who is obsessed with cheese wanted it, but the rest of us did not like it cheesy. Finally, my last complaint is that it doesn't make very much. For a family of 5, there were no leftovers at all. Usually we have a least a plate full for my husband to take to work in the morning. However, I guess this isn't too big of a problem seeing how it was very well received. I will be making this again with the changes. Also, that box of yellow rice is a hit! I will be buying more Goya products in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This is a tasty dish that is easy to prepare. I love that the recipe uses fresh veges!! I did make this in one pan by first cooking the chicken and veges as outlined in step 2 of the directions. I removed the chicken and veges to a plate when cooked through and proceeded to cook the rice (using the same pan) as outlined in step 1. I tasted this prior to adding the cheese and really liked it as is, but added the cheese thinking it makes everything better, right? In this case we actually liked it better without the cheese, surprisingly! I added the GOYA Adobo seasoning sparingly to the chicken because some other reviewers found the dish too salty, however, that was not the case for me and ended up adding some salt and pepper to the chicken after it was cooked. Be warned it does have msg so if you are allergic make your own spanish style rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States