Cheesy Chicken and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used one can of Rotel instead of the regular tomatoes. I also added one can of black beans into my chicken and veggie mixture. When I combined everything at the end, I finished it in a 9 x 13 baking dish instead of on the stove. I sprinkled the cheese on top and baked it for 20 minutes at 350°. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This really exceeded my expectations. Loved the Goya Yellow Rice. Only (minor) change was I used a seasoning blend I already had along with a little black pepper instead of the Goya All-Purpose. Tasted just as good reheated over the next couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I am really terrible about following recipes, but thought I would let you know what I did, and it turned out great. I cooked everything in one pot. I used the Goya seasoning sparingly because I didn't have much. I added Chicken Bullion when I boiled my chicken (also boiled the onion and peppers at the same time). After the chicken was cooked I cut it up and added it back into the pot to cook with the rice. I then added a can of corn and a small can of tiny peas. It was really good. This is an easy dish to play with if you don't have everything on hand. Kids loved it, and great for lunches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was fantastic!! So simple and yet so flavorful. All 3 of us loved it at my house. My 8 year old kept saying, "Mom, this is one of the best recipes ever!" :) I used more chicken than what it called for and extra cheese. Of course, my boyfriend and I added Sriracha, but it was great even as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Quick and Easy meal. My kids helped me make it and 3 out of 4 liked it. My husband said this would be something good for lunches during the week. I did sub an orange bell pepper over green because that is what I had on hand but no other substitutions or additions were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I left out the cheese to make this a bit healthier. This was good! Great flavor and very colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Not my favorite meal ever, but quick, easy, colorful and filling. I feel like the salt content was very high, but I found some low-sodium yellow rice that I'd like to try with. Also, I think changing the cheese (maybe pepper jack!) would kick it up another notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
So easy and yet so good! I seasoned three good sized chicken breasts with Goya's Adobo Seasoning and grilled them first. I took a bit of a short cut and used the microwave directions on the inside packet for the rice. I just added the chopped onion and green pepper to it and microwaved it according to the instructions. The last few minutes of cooking I threw in a can of diced tomatoes (drained). Once it was done, I sliced the chicken breast and added that along with some reduced fat cheddar cheese. Dinner was ready in no time! All I had to add was a garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by jmacsaunders
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
My husband is very picky about rice and I was hoping that the mixture of cheese, adobo seasoning and tomato would do it. Score! he loved it. We used our tomatoes fresh from the garden and it really jazzed up the yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Flavor was good, easy to make too. Don't like that the rice mix has MSG and Yellow Dye. I substituted fresh broccoli for the green pepper since we don't care for the green pepper. Just gave it a sprinkling of cheese based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States