Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was very good. I used 2 cans of soup instead of 1 and mixed cheese throughout instead of on top. I also poured melted butter over the bread cubes. Everyone at my house likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsieh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
With a few changes this is definitely a five star recipe. Save it to your favorites for sure. I cooked the chicken on the stove with salt, pepper, and paprika. I cooked the rice in chicken broth and also added chopped onion and frozen broccoli to the mixture. I used two cans of soup and 1/4 cup milk as many others suggested. Lastly I used more cheese and mixed half of it in the casserole and the other half on top. For the bread crumbs I mixed them with 2 Tbsp melted butter. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
The recipe would have been too bland as is. I added a packet of onion soup mix and one cup of water. Also, the chicken I used was leftover and had mushrooms and other spices that helped make this recipe good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I rated it a 5 star because the way I made it, came out excellent!!! I used 2 cans of soup: 1 chicken soup and 1 mushroom soup. Instead of cooking the chicken in the microwave I cooked it in a skillet, used 2 tbs of veggie oil and cooked it until white on both sides then added: salt, black pepper, minced garlic, garlic salt, and onion powder. The chicken came out excellent with so much flavor. I also used not only sharp chedder but 4 cheeses. I did use the bread crumbs but sprinkled it with butter and I put italian bread crumbs too. My whole family loved it and my fiance ate all of my left overs ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenesis R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I too added shredded Cheddar cheese, but I found that if I add celery salt, it makes it amazing and using day old hamburger buns and drizzling them with extra virgin olive oil, they toasted up even better and added even more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Excellent! After reading the reviews, I added an extra can of soup (Cheddar cheese), some onion powder, seasoned salt, & garlic powder to the chicken. I also added extra shredded Cheddar cheese to the top with the bread chunks, which were some homemade Italian bread that I had made the night before. Family says we're keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Great basic recipe. My changes were to add a can of cream of mushroom soup, a half can of milk, a cup of chopped broccoli, reduced the cheese to one cup and left out the bread cubes. My family salt and peppered to taste at the table and loved it. Hmm.. wonder if these changes just make it a different recipe after all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This has become a new favorite for me and my husband. It's quick and easy. I stir-fry the chicken with a little garlic salt and pepper and drizzle butter over the bread. Also, it definitely does either need more soup or less rice- I usually just decrease the rice to 1 1/2 cups since it's just the two of us. Otherwise- really delicious...and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Y.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Just love this one! I replaced the cr. of chicken soup with mushroom because this is what is usually in my pantry and then i used ground chicken as it was also handy and then i added steamed broccoli and sauteed mushrooms and onions to the mix. and lastly we don't use white bread and so i cubed up a few slices of sourdough bread to put on top. this gets nice and crunchy and gives it a more unique taste. this is a new favorite in our family. never have to worry about any going to waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My husband loved it so I'll make it again, but I was not impressed. After adding garlic and peppers it was still incredibly bland. I will try some of the other suggestions next time I make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States