Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
very good!!! my family loved it. i added sourcream, mayo, and chopped onions and my family cleaned the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is good with all the changes made. After reading reviews I changed the following: -cooked the chicken in skillet adding little garlic salt and pepper for flavoring -Use 2 cans of soup, one cream of chicken and one cheese soup -Use 4 slices of bread and butter both sides before cubing -Add 1-2 cups of broccoli (cooked or frozen not raw) -Increase cheese to 3 cups with 1/2 in the mixture and other half on top of the bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a basic recipe. I added some broccoli to it and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by sjsholar
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was really good - I made it on a snow day and it was great comfort food! I did make a few adjustments. I only had 3 chicken breasts so that's what I used, and I simmered them in chicken broth with lots of different seasonings. A lot of people were saying to use two cans of soup, but I only had one so once I poured the soup in I filled the can halfway with milk and added it, along with some extra cheese to the mixture as well. I also crumbled some butter crackers under the bread cubes, and poured a little melted butter over the top of the bread. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjsholar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Love this recipe so quick and delish. A quick easy dinner to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUIRZ1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This recipe was pretty good... but I had not checked the others comments first, which would've helped I believe. I had to use a can of chicken gravy instead of the cream of chicken and I added a small can of mushrooms... also I sprinkled onion powder over the entire casserole before adding the cheese and bread crumbs which really helped the flavor. I think putting half the cheese mixture into the casserole and only half on top would've been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was really good, I loved the flavor and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was a great dish! I thought it was pretty easy to make. I did make a few changes after reading the reviews. I sauted the chicken with a little butter a minced garlic. I also cooked my rice in chicken broth instead of water to give it more flavor. I used a can of cream of chicken soup and cheddar soup. I added that to the chicken mixture to heat it a little. This made it easier to mix in the rice. I also used plain bread crumbs instead of the cubed white bread. It was a great hit at my house and my boyfriend wants me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
As others have said, this is a good base recipe that you can adjust to your own taste. I cooked the chicken in a pan, instead of the microwave, and seasoned with a pasta/pizza spice mix I have. Then, I sauteed garlic and spinach in the brownings from the chicken pan. I used brown rice instead of white, and cream of mushroom instead of the cream of chicken. When I mixed everything together, I sprinkled a little more of the pasta/pizza spices and some garlic salt in the pan. Finally, I used a nice soft rye bread from Great Harvest for the cubed bread, and drizzled olive oil on top. As the recipe goes, I gave it a 4, but with my modifications, for us, was a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was great for my kids (3 & 4 year olds) who eat only bland dishes. If they ate it up, then it was a huge success. If cooking for only my husband and I, I would spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States