Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
After reading the reviews I altered recipe as well. I used chicken from rotisserie chicken, added garlic and onion powder and added 1 cup of light sour cream. I also used short grain brown rice instead of white rice as well as reduced fat cheddar and healthy request chicken soup. I do weight watchers and a 1 cup serving was 12 points with the substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I also used bouillon to flavor the rice water as well as other spices on the chicken when frying it. Added more cheese and diced green chiles too. Skipped the bread topping and it was a hit in my house. 4 stars as is... 5 with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
So easy and the kids eat it up. I make this as written and my kids, who like meat and potatoes, love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Just made this for the first time tonight. Following the posted recipe, I can only give it 3 stars. It's hearty, and filling, just not much flavor. And 1 can of soup really isn't enough. I will make this again because it has the potential to be a very good dish. Next time though I'm going to search through the other reviews to find ways to give it some flavor that it is missing as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
A terrific starter recipe that can be modified a hundred ways! Check all of the reviews for great ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Reading the reviews is a must for this recipe. I almost didn’t and I know I would have regretted it. I got lots of great ideas from reading the reviews and my casserole turned out great. Using two cans of cream of chicken is a must. I added a half cup of milk. I also cooked the chicken up in a skillet instead of the microwave. I added garlic powder, frozen broccoli, carrots, and corn to the mixture. I used cheese in the mixture as well as on top. Using 4-5 pieces of bread is a must. I also used butter on the bread which I think made it taste better. This recipe would be a five star recipe if the changes weren’t needed, but they most definitely are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is a nice, simple casserole dish. I am so glad I read the comments from the other viewers! I added/changed things up a bit as recommended. I sautéed my chicken with 2 garlic cloves and added 1/4 teaspoon chkn bouillon seasoning. I used 2 cans of crm of chkn, used the full amnt of the cooked rice, not only 2 cups. Used 3 cups of cheese to add to the soup, rice and chkn mixture. Added 1 lb of frozen broccoli. After putting the mixture in a casserole dish, I topped with more shredded cheese, added a light layer of garlic powder, topped with the cubed bread, and drizzled with butter. My husband and 1 1/2 year old liked it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This pleased everyone so well I made it twice in one week. I followed others advice and used 2 cans of soup and I used some milk also. I love broccoli so I added some to the mix and I used plenty of cheese. It was a great suggestion to butter the bread so they came out crunchy and flavorful. I would highly recommend this casserole because it pleased my super-picky vegetarian daughter!! Bon appetit: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This was pretty basic and nothing real special. I think adding extra flavor would enhance it greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent! I made this for my boyfriend and myself. He normally turns his nose up at casseroles but he went back for seconds and he can't wait for me to make this recipe again! I did make a few changes though. Because it was just for the two of us I only used 1 cup of rice, to which I added a chicken bouillon cube for flavor. I only used 1 can of soup- but I added 1/2 a can of water to the mixture. The second time I made it I added some frozen broccoli which really gave it an extra layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States