Cheesy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is an old standby - my mom used to make this but she always took a package of Lipton Onion Soup mix and sprinkled half in the rice and the other half on the chicken - that really perks up the recipe and adds tons of flavor. Frenchs onion mixed in the rice and top the chicken is another good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this for dinner tonite and I put my own twist to it. I sauted finely chopped onions and garlic and added to the chicken browning in pan. I substituted chicken broth and a few splashes of dry white wine for the water. I used different veggies cuz I have some that don't like broccoli. I used corn, peas and fresh mushrooms. This was absolutely fantastic!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe. Very easy and tasty. I boiled the chicken in water and cooked the rice and veggie's seperate. Then when the rice was done i cut up the chicken in bite sized pices and added it to the rice. And melted cheese on top! I also mixed in garlic, onion, and paramasan cheese. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
My mom used to make this ALL the time when I was younger so I absolutely love this combination. And it is SO easy. I usually do put the chicken in a skillet first just to brown the top and bottom and then let it cook through while baking. And I also cook the rice a little bit before putting in the dish to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This turned out wonderful, very tender and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Such an easy quick week night meal. I cut my chicken into bite sizes pcs. Added garlic and onion powder to it while it cooked. I didn't removed it, just added everything in with it when it was done. I used part chicken borth and part water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deltria
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I'm jn love!! My new family fave! I poured the mixture over the chicken in a 9x13 pan and then baked it for 10 min!! The chicken was moist inside!! This will be my next pot luck meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Easy to make and delicious. I might add a little more spice next time, but great by the recipe by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I really like this recipe BUT we change up the vegetables and add a lot of seasoning-we used to do carrot and broccoli but we have a broccoli allergy now so we do peas or something else with carrots. We also bake in the oven like a reviewer recommended. I heat oven to 375. I stir the soup, water, rice, onion pwder, black pepper, garlic powder, and any other seasonings we want (we are allergic to nightshades so we don't do paprika and because of modified food starch which is potato starch in the soup I do homemade cream of chicken soup instead) in a pyrex casserole dish. I top with the chicken and if it's thick I cut it in half to make it thinner so it cooks quicker. I cover with foil then bake for at least 50 minutes but usually it's more like an hour and 10 or hour and 20 until the rice is tender and then top with the cheese and let stand 10 minutes. I stir the rice and veggies well before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States