Cheesy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I'm confused, I've been using the recipe from the Campbells website for years and I've never heard of cooking the chicken first in a skillet, the thing I loved about this recipe was that you can throw all the ingredients together in a few minutes and throw it in the oven. It makes a meal that goes a long way and every one seems to enjoy, the only changes I made was I added onion and garlic powder to the chicken, I've had rave reviews, Here's the original instructions off the Campbell's kitchen website. "Heat the oven to 375°F. Stir the soup, water, rice, onion powder, black pepper and vegetables in a 2-quart shallow baking dish. Top with the chicken. Season the chicken as desired. Cover the baking dish. Bake for 50 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through and the rice is tender. Top with the cheese. Let the casserole stand for 10 minutes. Stir the rice before serving."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is a GREAT recipe. Very easy and tasty. I boiled the chicken in water and cooked the rice and veggie's seperate. Then when the rice was done i cut up the chicken in bite sized pices and added it to the rice. And melted cheese on top! I also mixed in garlic, onion, and paramasan cheese. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I used the ingredients as listed here, but baked them, covered, in a casserole dish, as suggested on the Campbell's soup can. The rice and veggies were thick, creamy, and tasty, but the chicken was a bit dry. Next time I might try cubing the chicken and mixing into the casserole, rather than leaving them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My mom taught me a recipe similar to this except she cooks the chicken and rice separately. Then adds the soup and broccoli to the rice. She then puts the rice mixture and chicken in a baking dish and tops it with cheddar cheese and then throws it in the oven. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is an old standby - my mom used to make this but she always took a package of Lipton Onion Soup mix and sprinkled half in the rice and the other half on the chicken - that really perks up the recipe and adds tons of flavor. Frenchs onion mixed in the rice and top the chicken is another good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This recipe was ok. I took the suggestions to add in a couple more things. However, following the recipe my rice was undercooked and brought the meal down a bit. Next time i will cook the rice and veggies separate and also skip the oil for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clonmel, County Tipperary, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
It didn't have much taste, even after I added some extra seasonings. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
The ingredient list looked a little bland for my family, so I sprinkled the chicken breasts as they were browning with onion powder, garlic powder, seasoned salt and black pepper to taste. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
My mom used to make this ALL the time when I was younger so I absolutely love this combination. And it is SO easy. I usually do put the chicken in a skillet first just to brown the top and bottom and then let it cook through while baking. And I also cook the rice a little bit before putting in the dish to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this for dinner tonite and I put my own twist to it. I sauted finely chopped onions and garlic and added to the chicken browning in pan. I substituted chicken broth and a few splashes of dry white wine for the water. I used different veggies cuz I have some that don't like broccoli. I used corn, peas and fresh mushrooms. This was absolutely fantastic!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States