Cheesy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I really like this recipe BUT we change up the vegetables and add a lot of seasoning-we used to do carrot and broccoli but we have a broccoli allergy now so we do peas or something else with carrots. We also bake in the oven like a reviewer recommended. I heat oven to 375. I stir the soup, water, rice, onion pwder, black pepper, garlic powder, and any other seasonings we want (we are allergic to nightshades so we don't do paprika and because of modified food starch which is potato starch in the soup I do homemade cream of chicken soup instead) in a pyrex casserole dish. I top with the chicken and if it's thick I cut it in half to make it thinner so it cooks quicker. I cover with foil then bake for at least 50 minutes but usually it's more like an hour and 10 or hour and 20 until the rice is tender and then top with the cheese and let stand 10 minutes. I stir the rice and veggies well before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Easy to make and delicious. I might add a little more spice next time, but great by the recipe by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Such an easy quick week night meal. I cut my chicken into bite sizes pcs. Added garlic and onion powder to it while it cooked. I didn't removed it, just added everything in with it when it was done. I used part chicken borth and part water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I used chopped Rotisserie Chicken and just threw all the ingredients in the pan and cooked it like soup. I had a can of Fiesta Cheese Soup I wanted to use up so I replaced this with the cheese. I also used 3 cups of broccoli. Very quick and easy recipe that was tasty over rice and with bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is delicious! I made it a little different though. I cut up the chicken into cubes and mixed in sharp cheese instead of putting it on top. Me and my sister are in competition about whose cheesy chicken and rice is better. I think this recipe is definitely the winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this as suggested and thought it was a bit bland. So I made the following changes and my family and I thought that after the changes this recipe was wonderful and we will be making again. I changed to American cheese and bought slices which I tore up into pieces and put on top of the chicken pieces. I also pounded out my chicken pcs to about 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick uncooked. I used long grain Jasmine rice and 1 bag of california mix vegetables. No paprika. I sprinkled with bread crumbs and italian seasoning the last 20 minutes. Because of the Jasmine rice I did have to cook it about an hour and 20 minutes but I baked with foil on it the first hour then took the foil off and put the bread crumbs on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this for dinner tonite and I put my own twist to it. I sauted finely chopped onions and garlic and added to the chicken browning in pan. I substituted chicken broth and a few splashes of dry white wine for the water. I used different veggies cuz I have some that don't like broccoli. I used corn, peas and fresh mushrooms. This was absolutely fantastic!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I've always loved this recipe, but I had never heard of making it all in a skillet. So I contiuned to brown the chicken but I mixed the rice, soup and broccoli in a casserole dish and topped with chicken and baked at 350 for about twenty mins or until rice is tender and chicken is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovelyCj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
In order to cut my cooking time down, I put the chicken breasts in my George Foreman grill and just browned them, about 5-6 minutes. I also didn't have white rice on hand, so I used a package of Uncle Ben's Long Grain and Wild Rice (original recipe) using the seasoning packet and added the frozen broccoli, soup and water to that in the baking dish. Put the chicken on top, cooked for 25 minutes covered with foil. It needed 10 more minutes but was done perfectly. I didn't add cheese. It didn't need any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This turned out wonderful, very tender and juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States