Cheesy Chicken and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This recipe is one of my husband’s favorites. It is quick, easy, and delightful. Though, I did add a few things to spice it up a bit. I also prepared it differently. The way that I prepared it takes much less time. Cook chicken in large saucepan over med/high heat; meanwhile follow directions on box of scalloped potatoes for STOVE TOP. When chicken is finished cooking and liquid runs clear, add potato mixture, cover, and reduce heat low/simmer for 20 min. While mixture is at simmer, dice up a ripe tomato and set aside. When 20 min. is up, add diced tomato along with bacon bits and pinch of oregano. My husband likes a lot of bacon bits, but you can do it to your taste. Recover for 5-10 min, or until done. You can even top it off with some shredded cheese when served to make it extra cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My whole family loved this casserole! I used Betty Crocker's AuGratin Potatoes mix in a box and it turned out great!! I added a little extra milk, half as much cheese, and 3 potatoes instead of 4. I also added the bread crumbs another reviewer suggested. YUMMY!!! We will definitely have this casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was very yummy and super easy..it was also a family hit! I think, though, that next time I will micro the potatos a little bit before putting them in the mixture. The potatos were still a little bit too hard for my liking. I would definately add more cheese too! We are cheese people, thats for sure. Other than those two thing I think I would add veggies to it the next time to make it a complet meal. This was a great recipe for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Bateman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe was as easy as it gets! I added some parmesean cheese and bread crumbs to the cheddar on top to make a crust which turned out really nicely, I may add broccoli or peas next time I make it so it's a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was a HIT with my family! ~ It reminds me of a homecookin/comfort food kind of dish. I actually don't use boxed scalloped potatoes very much, but I just happen to have some on hand to try this :) I added some sauteed mushrooms and onions (just b/c we LOVE these in just about ANYTHING) AND a little garlic powder. AND I "missed" the part about adding extra milk to the scalloped potatoes so I added it later (before folding, but while potatoes were still hot) WITH a couple of TBS of Cream of Chicken soup I had in the fridge I needed to use up. I also added some bread crumbs and some green onions on the top too with the cheese (for flavor and color as well). It's a little time consuming (not difficult, just not a really "quick" meal), but worth it :) It would be a GREAT recipe re the time when you had some leftover chicken already cooked. I was thinking after the fact it would be even BETTER with some bacon bits mixed in and/or on the top too ~ just in case it's not FATTENING enough for you :)) I will definitely add it to my favorites for a great weeknite "comfort food" kind of meal. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
After reading some of the other reviews, I decided to par-boil the potatoes before adding them into the packaged mix. It turned out great, and the potatoes were completely cooked. Definitely a terrific choice if you're looking for an easy casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
I found the instructions to be rather vague. I couldn't find scalloped potato mix alone so I had to buy the boxed w/potatoes. I followed the liquid measurements best I could since the ones on this recipe and the box didn't match. This was a disaster!!! It may have been my fault but I have made several casseroles that have turned out great. This is my first official "failure". We're having mac and cheese for dinner tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
The recipe as written probably only deserves 4 stars...but with my changes this is a 5 star recipe! First off, the potatoes need to be bake a bit before they are cut and put into this...otherwise they will come out crunchy. I also made sure to add a can of cream of chicken soup to this, as well as a small can of mushrooms. I'm thinking about tossing in some parmesan cheese next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I started making this recipe earlier in the day so I had enough time to do everything. I cooked the potatoes on the box for stove top. I added 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning to the chicken and s&p as well. I also added onion powder and poultry seasoning to the potato mixture. The place that I got confused was when to add the actual potatoes to the scalloped potatoes. Next time I think that I will par-boil them per another review here. If I had done that the first time then maybe I wouldn't have had to cook the whole casserole longer than the recipe states. I also added bread crumbs to the top with the cheese for more of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
I found this recipe to be rather bland, which could easily be blamed on a bad choice in my scallop potato mix. Be sure you have a good tasting mix, this was a lot of work for a bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States