Cheesy Chicken and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This recipe is one of my husband’s favorites. It is quick, easy, and delightful. Though, I did add a few things to spice it up a bit. I also prepared it differently. The way that I prepared it takes much less time. Cook chicken in large saucepan over med/high heat; meanwhile follow directions on box of scalloped potatoes for STOVE TOP. When chicken is finished cooking and liquid runs clear, add potato mixture, cover, and reduce heat low/simmer for 20 min. While mixture is at simmer, dice up a ripe tomato and set aside. When 20 min. is up, add diced tomato along with bacon bits and pinch of oregano. My husband likes a lot of bacon bits, but you can do it to your taste. Recover for 5-10 min, or until done. You can even top it off with some shredded cheese when served to make it extra cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My whole family loved this casserole! I used Betty Crocker's AuGratin Potatoes mix in a box and it turned out great!! I added a little extra milk, half as much cheese, and 3 potatoes instead of 4. I also added the bread crumbs another reviewer suggested. YUMMY!!! We will definitely have this casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was very yummy and super easy..it was also a family hit! I think, though, that next time I will micro the potatos a little bit before putting them in the mixture. The potatos were still a little bit too hard for my liking. I would definately add more cheese too! We are cheese people, thats for sure. Other than those two thing I think I would add veggies to it the next time to make it a complet meal. This was a great recipe for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Bateman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe was as easy as it gets! I added some parmesean cheese and bread crumbs to the cheddar on top to make a crust which turned out really nicely, I may add broccoli or peas next time I make it so it's a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was a HIT with my family! ~ It reminds me of a homecookin/comfort food kind of dish. I actually don't use boxed scalloped potatoes very much, but I just happen to have some on hand to try this :) I added some sauteed mushrooms and onions (just b/c we LOVE these in just about ANYTHING) AND a little garlic powder. AND I "missed" the part about adding extra milk to the scalloped potatoes so I added it later (before folding, but while potatoes were still hot) WITH a couple of TBS of Cream of Chicken soup I had in the fridge I needed to use up. I also added some bread crumbs and some green onions on the top too with the cheese (for flavor and color as well). It's a little time consuming (not difficult, just not a really "quick" meal), but worth it :) It would be a GREAT recipe re the time when you had some leftover chicken already cooked. I was thinking after the fact it would be even BETTER with some bacon bits mixed in and/or on the top too ~ just in case it's not FATTENING enough for you :)) I will definitely add it to my favorites for a great weeknite "comfort food" kind of meal. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
After reading some of the other reviews, I decided to par-boil the potatoes before adding them into the packaged mix. It turned out great, and the potatoes were completely cooked. Definitely a terrific choice if you're looking for an easy casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
I found the instructions to be rather vague. I couldn't find scalloped potato mix alone so I had to buy the boxed w/potatoes. I followed the liquid measurements best I could since the ones on this recipe and the box didn't match. This was a disaster!!! It may have been my fault but I have made several casseroles that have turned out great. This is my first official "failure". We're having mac and cheese for dinner tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
The recipe as written probably only deserves 4 stars...but with my changes this is a 5 star recipe! First off, the potatoes need to be bake a bit before they are cut and put into this...otherwise they will come out crunchy. I also made sure to add a can of cream of chicken soup to this, as well as a small can of mushrooms. I'm thinking about tossing in some parmesan cheese next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I started making this recipe earlier in the day so I had enough time to do everything. I cooked the potatoes on the box for stove top. I added 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning to the chicken and s&p as well. I also added onion powder and poultry seasoning to the potato mixture. The place that I got confused was when to add the actual potatoes to the scalloped potatoes. Next time I think that I will par-boil them per another review here. If I had done that the first time then maybe I wouldn't have had to cook the whole casserole longer than the recipe states. I also added bread crumbs to the top with the cheese for more of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
I found this recipe to be rather bland, which could easily be blamed on a bad choice in my scallop potato mix. Be sure you have a good tasting mix, this was a lot of work for a bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States