Cheesy Chicken and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've been making this casserole for 6 years, and it's become a family favorite. I always make this when I take a casserole to someone to cheer them up and it always works. We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I started making this recipe earlier in the day so I had enough time to do everything. I cooked the potatoes on the box for stove top. I added 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning to the chicken and s&p as well. I also added onion powder and poultry seasoning to the potato mixture. The place that I got confused was when to add the actual potatoes to the scalloped potatoes. Next time I think that I will par-boil them per another review here. If I had done that the first time then maybe I wouldn't have had to cook the whole casserole longer than the recipe states. I also added bread crumbs to the top with the cheese for more of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Very good only used 2 potatos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Not good at all- the potatoes were not cooked nearly enough and we ended up having to throw it into the microwave to cook it enough to even be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALLI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This recipe is one of my husband’s favorites. It is quick, easy, and delightful. Though, I did add a few things to spice it up a bit. I also prepared it differently. The way that I prepared it takes much less time. Cook chicken in large saucepan over med/high heat; meanwhile follow directions on box of scalloped potatoes for STOVE TOP. When chicken is finished cooking and liquid runs clear, add potato mixture, cover, and reduce heat low/simmer for 20 min. While mixture is at simmer, dice up a ripe tomato and set aside. When 20 min. is up, add diced tomato along with bacon bits and pinch of oregano. My husband likes a lot of bacon bits, but you can do it to your taste. Recover for 5-10 min, or until done. You can even top it off with some shredded cheese when served to make it extra cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My husband loved this! Very easy to make. Next time I would just add some salt and peper. It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
After reading some of the other reviews, I decided to par-boil the potatoes before adding them into the packaged mix. It turned out great, and the potatoes were completely cooked. Definitely a terrific choice if you're looking for an easy casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I have to say that this was bland to me. My husband tasted it and would not even eat it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was a good, comfort food sort of casserole. I too was a bit confused as to what to do with the box mix and potatoes, but it worked out perfectly the way I ended up doing it. I used a store brand box of scalloped potatoes, threw in the extra sliced potatoes, and cooked it all together with about 1 1/2 cups total of milk. While no one raved about the end result, they seemed to enjoy it and the leftovers were finished the next day. I will make this again when I feel in the mood for some comfort food. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
i don't know what i did wrong, but it turned out more liquid than anything else and did not look appetizing, so i made mac and cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States