Cheesy Chicken and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
The recipe as written probably only deserves 4 stars...but with my changes this is a 5 star recipe! First off, the potatoes need to be bake a bit before they are cut and put into this...otherwise they will come out crunchy. I also made sure to add a can of cream of chicken soup to this, as well as a small can of mushrooms. I'm thinking about tossing in some parmesan cheese next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Excellent dish for eating half & freezing half! The family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This recipe did not work for me, the potatoes remained uncooked and hard as rocks. I think perhaps the potatoes should be not just prepared according to package directions, but COOKED. Then add the chicken and cook together. I "prepared" the scalloped potatoes as directed, but did not cook them. I added the cooked chicken, covered and baked. But obvisouly, this did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
pretty good. my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
It doesn't taste bad, which is why it didn't get only one star, but it doesn't taste like anything. Also, after 45 minutes the potatoes were still raw so I uncovered and baked for another hour and it was FINALLY done. I ended up having to feed my younger kids hot dogs because this took so much longer than stated. If you really added a bunch of other things it would probably be good, but I don't think this would be worth the extra trouble. I'm deleting this from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was pretty good and very simple. I made it exactly as the recipe called for this time. Next time I will season the chicken before I add it to the potatoes. This was a hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
fantastic! My friend made this for me two summers ago and it has been a favorite ever since! With reflux disease as advanced as mine is, it's difficult to find yummy food that doesn't disagree with me. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Tasted great! Like most others, I did have a few changes. I had leftover pork roast rather than chicken and actually added a potato since our local Russets are smaller than supermarket ones. I topped mine with herbed bread crumbs and green onions and a scattering of extra cheese. I missed that I wasn't supposed to put the cheese in with everything else and just stirred it in. I just cooked it for the total alloted time and it worked out great. Do grease the pan though! My sides were very burnt. I also added some thinly sliced carrots and will add peas or beans as well next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
My family loved this recipe. The only thing that I did different was that I added on can of green beans to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This recipe is worth a try. After I made it, I agree with everyone else- the flavor of this casserole depends on what kind of boxed pototo mix you use. Everyone liked it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States