Cheesy Chicken and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MOMMY4MACK
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I too was slightly confused by the "mix" and potato idea. I used no-name brand boxed scalloped potato mix (with the dehydrated potatos in the box), and followed the instructions the same, other than adding ten minutes to the cooking time to make it a little thicker. Sure made for an easy and quick dinner. I chickened out (no pun intended) and didnt put in canned peas or corn this time, but certainly will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY4MACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My whole family loved this casserole! I used Betty Crocker's AuGratin Potatoes mix in a box and it turned out great!! I added a little extra milk, half as much cheese, and 3 potatoes instead of 4. I also added the bread crumbs another reviewer suggested. YUMMY!!! We will definitely have this casserole again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was a HIT with my family! ~ It reminds me of a homecookin/comfort food kind of dish. I actually don't use boxed scalloped potatoes very much, but I just happen to have some on hand to try this :) I added some sauteed mushrooms and onions (just b/c we LOVE these in just about ANYTHING) AND a little garlic powder. AND I "missed" the part about adding extra milk to the scalloped potatoes so I added it later (before folding, but while potatoes were still hot) WITH a couple of TBS of Cream of Chicken soup I had in the fridge I needed to use up. I also added some bread crumbs and some green onions on the top too with the cheese (for flavor and color as well). It's a little time consuming (not difficult, just not a really "quick" meal), but worth it :) It would be a GREAT recipe re the time when you had some leftover chicken already cooked. I was thinking after the fact it would be even BETTER with some bacon bits mixed in and/or on the top too ~ just in case it's not FATTENING enough for you :)) I will definitely add it to my favorites for a great weeknite "comfort food" kind of meal. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This recipe is very simple and it is a nice change of pace, that my family all loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boaz, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This recipe was as easy as it gets! I added some parmesean cheese and bread crumbs to the cheddar on top to make a crust which turned out really nicely, I may add broccoli or peas next time I make it so it's a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is pretty simple to make and very cheesy, the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
thought it needed more flavor, if make it again will add more seasonings to it, added broccoli to this so made a meal all in one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
Kids loved it...wanted more and the same the dish the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
This recipe was not very spacific with what kind or scalluped potato mix you were supposed to get. I had to get dehiderated scalluped potatos. It got very confusing because the two didn't match up. I messed up and it seemed like it was going to turn out bad. It was watery and the scalluped potatos were crunchy, I had a very strange way of saving it. i added bread crumbs and parmasan cheese and fried it on the stove. it turned out diffrent, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
An instant hit my home! EVERYONE likes it and that is no less than a miracle! Thank you. Natalie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States