Cheesy Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I used this recipe as a start because I wanted to add cheese to a chicken pie, but it seemed to be lacking a lot of veggies, and other ingredients that add flavor. So, I did cook the bottom shell @ 375 as recommended by others. I also added frozen corn, about 1/4 cup of finely diced onions, 1 red potato finely diced (so they wouldn't be hard) and salt and pepper to the filling mixture, and just added the cheese into the hot mixture (after the milk/cornstarch). I brushed the top w/an egg wash and baked at 375 for 25 minutes. It turned out really good! Wasn't at all runny, and my mother, who's a bit picky and doesn't particularly like chicken pot pie, had two pieces! Woohoo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very tasty. I used frozen mixed vegetables, it worked well. Better day#2 because it thickened a little more. Will make again. May try making my own pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very easy and my family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This pot pie was easy and turned out good. To suit our tastes, I replaced the celery with corn kernels. The meat I used was the leg and thigh meat of a rotisserie chicken. I did find the filling to be kind of bland so I added some salt, pepper, and garlic powder to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I had left over turkey and put this together quickly using frozen veggies and a few potatoes, which I sauteed with some onion and minced garlic before combining with the sauce. Mine turned out a bit on the dry side which probably was my error in making the sauce more like gravy. Next time I will try for a thinner sauce. The flavor was delicious and everyone enjoyed the cheesy turkey pot pie. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This did not turn out great, the filling was watery and cooking it at 325 is too low. I would not make again and I did follow the recipe, exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Love this recipe! It's a go-to recipe for after Thanksgiving turkey leftovers. I add onions and use up leftover veggies from the veggie tray. Sometimes bake in a dish with biscuit dough on top instead of making pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was really good but I did make a couple changes. First I cooked the bottom shell for a few minutes before filling it so it wouldn't be doughy. I added more starch and it took only a few minutes to thicken. I also added more chicken, veggies and I added onions. I think next time I will also turn up the heat cause at 325 it took forever for mine to cook. Otherwise Very yummy.... a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Wonderful recipe, I am very glad that I made it and will make it again. :) Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fox, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pauls Valley, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States