Cheesy Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This is a good, basic pot pie recipe, that can be altered to suit one's individual tastes. I increased frozen peas to 1 cup, as well as 1/2 cup each of celery and carrots, as I felt it needed more veggies. I added 1/4 cup of wine and a splash of Worcestershire sauce, as well as salt and pepper for a bit more flavor. I also used frozen pie crusts (defrosted of course!) and brushed a beaten egg white on the top before baking, which makes a nice golden, flaky crust. I didn't have the time to wait an hour for it to cool, so after cooking the filling, added the cheese right away and immediately put the pie in the oven. It turned out great! One of our favorite quick meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Very good recipe. However 325 degrees is too low a temp. for a golden brown crust. Should be 375 for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
Excellent! One of the best chicken pot pies I ahve made and eaten. I made it for Sunday dinner and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This is a great tasting pot pie, however my bottom crust came out very doughy?? next time I will pre-bake bottom crust for 10 minutes, but all in all a very good chicken pot pie! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This was great! If you add a little extra cornstarch and turn the heat up just a little bit (to about medium high) you dont have to let it sit for 45 minutes.The extra heat with the extra cornstarch make it thicken in just a few minutes. Make sure to keep stiring while the heat is turned up so you dont burn anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This is a great recipe! I now quadruple the recipe, using 4 cups of whatever vegetables I have, and use Pillsbury pie crusts for the top only. I bake only one and freeze the remaining three. I have taken these to friends after having babies, and all have asked for the recipe. Thanks for sharing Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Good recipe. Be sure to cook long enough. Do not place on an insulated cookie sheet because it keeps it from browning and cooking properly,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISSAMUEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I love this pot pie. As a former Wisconsinite.. I love cheese. :) This pie was easy and tastes great. I use Pillsbury pie crusts for this recipe, as my homemade crusts don't usually turn out all that well. I baked the bottom crust for about 15 mins and 325 so that it won't be soggy after the chicken mixture is put in. This is a very nice recipe because you can add/substitute different veggies. (My kids don't like celery) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wonderful recipe! There was an awkward moment when I was raving about it and my mom asked if it was better than hers. She insisted I make it for her so she could see for herself, and she loved it too! I did make a few changes, I increased the veggies to 1 cup each and used potatoes instead of celery. I also increased the chicken to 1 1/2 cups. Rather than waiting 5 min to thicken I just increased the temp instead, and I didn't wait an hour for it to cool, I added the cheese and poured it into the pie shell immediately. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I don't understand how that one reviewer said this isn't a "real chicken pot pie". She/he must've been jealous that this was someone else's recipe! I made this for dinner tonight. I usually just make the quick Bisquik recipe for pot pie, but I'm pregnant and making recipes to freeze for when the baby comes. THIS IS DELICIOUS! I love cheese in anything. I didn't know if my hubby would, but the two of us ate 90% of it for our dinner! I followed this recipe exactly except for using frozen beggies and thought it had extra zip with the cheese. This recipe is quick, easy, and tastes like it took hours. It's very filling and I will definitely make more of this and pass the recipe onto my friends! GOOD JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States