Cheesy Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I have been looking for a good chicken pot pie recipe, and I decided to try this because the filling sounded good. I did make some modifications based on my preferences. I cut the chicken in cubes instead of shredding it, I added a little garlic powder to the filling, and I also added about half a can of low fat cream of chicken soup because it did not look as creamy as I like it after it cooled off. Instead of using a double pie crust, I cut out a piece of puff pastry to cover the top and left the bottom crust free. I did this because I had the puff pastry left over from another recipe. Because of the crust change, I baked it at 400 degrees for about a half hour. The pie turned out delicious, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
It is definately going to become a MUST for a family dinner as well as for guest! I believe it will be great to use as well as a filling for tartelettes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Great recipe! I've lightened it up by using only a top crust and by using just 1 c of cheese. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This pot pie was so good. My husband and I loved it. It took some time to put it together for me, but it was well worth the time invested. I'm sure we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Wow this is really good. Unfortunately I forgot to put the cheese in before I put the top crust on so I had to put the cheese on our pieces after it was cooked. It gave me a pretty good idea on how it would have tasted if I had it right. I’m definitely making it again hopefully with the cheese in this time. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Having tried this recipe before, I LOVED it! Upon making it a second time, I realized I was out of milk, which is one of the required ingredients. So, upon my husband's recommendation, I substituted the milk with the same amount of sour cream. The end result was totally divine, and added a truly interesting twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I love this pot pie. As a former Wisconsinite.. I love cheese. :) This pie was easy and tastes great. I use Pillsbury pie crusts for this recipe, as my homemade crusts don't usually turn out all that well. I baked the bottom crust for about 15 mins and 325 so that it won't be soggy after the chicken mixture is put in. This is a very nice recipe because you can add/substitute different veggies. (My kids don't like celery) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
A keeper! The cheese makes all the difference in this recipe. I did make a few changes... I added 3/4 can of Crm of Chicken, substituted small chunks of potato for the celery and used chicken broth instead of stock. Also, I didn't have any cornstarch, so I used flour. Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
My family loves this recipe! It's so easy to put together. I use precooked packaged chicken and ready made pie crusts. It's especially good with sharp cheddar. I also add tarragon and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
absolutely delicious! My boyfriend loved it and can't wait until I make it again. I also added cubed potatoes, chopped red onion, garlic, rosemary, oregano, cracked black pepper, parsley, an additional tablespoon of cornstarch, and substituted heavy cream for the milk & chicken stock for the broth. I also shredded half a block of colby/monterey jack cheese instead of buying the pre shredded kind of cheese which can be on the dry side. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States