Cheesy Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was my first time making this, so I made it as per the recipe (except for adding some additional carrot). I thought it was great! Rich and satisfying, and surprisingly filling due to the cheese. I'm not sure the cheese added a lot of taste, but it certainly added that wonderful comforting richness. Sweet and perfect. I could imagine some onion and/or garlic added to it. As another reviewer indicated, great base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Liked the idea of this recipe, thought, next time I'll leave the cheese out. I love cheese, but it didn't really add too much to the dish, and since it's expensive I'll use it in other recipes instead! Added some herbs and spices because I thought it would be bland otherwise. Good base recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I used a little more chicken broth than the recipe called for, and a lot more peas and carrots. I also added salt, pepper, and garlic powder. It turned out completely amazing; the cheese really made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This turned out wonderfully well with just a couple of adjustments. I had to cook the chicken, so I boiled a chicken breast in a couple cups of veggie stock I had in the fridge, letting it reduce to 1-1/2 cups before I added the veggies. I didn't want to wait an hour for the mixture to cool before putting it in the pie shell, so I baked the bottom shell about 8 minutes before adding the filling (without cheese), spreading the cheese on top and stirring lightly. I put the top crust on and baked as directed, increasing the temperature to 350 near the end to get a bit of browning. The sauce is flavorful and just thick enough, and the crust is flaky on both top and bottom. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was okay. It is easy enough but I just don't think its the right recipe for us. I found myself missing the more traditional taste of a chicken pot pie. I'm giving it 4 stars because as the recipe goes it is pretty good and easy, but like I said, not the one for us. So, thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Very good! I can't wait for my husband to make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Very good. Big hit with my husband and two 5 year olds. I used shredded canned chicken (2 cans) - much easier. I also brush the crust with a beaten egg and cook 5 minutes before adding filling. It helps keep it from getting soggy. I also cooked at 375 for 30 minutes. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
YUM! Best pot pie recipe ever! Will def. make again, as requested by hubby. Felt it needed more veg so I added broccoli and mushrooms instead of peas (along with some pepper and garlic) and it was fantastic. Used Pilsbury refrig. dough to make it easier, and def. needs to bake longer than 35-35 min, mine was in almost an hour, maybe next time will up the temp a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA
Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was absolutely delicious! I didn't have stock, so I used broth and I added corn and some green onion. My family enjoyed this and I will make it again. Only thing is, it take longer than 45 minutes to bake- almost an hour, I would use the advise another reviewer gave and hike the heat to 375 and it will be quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Great! I added lots of extra yummy vegetables including corn. Scott liked it because he couldn't taste the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Nichols
Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States